Skip to Main Content
Login to LibApps


Biomedical Informatics

Databases

Databases that contain references to journal articles and conference papers:

  • PubMed  -
    • PubMed indexes citations for articles from MEDLINE and OLDMEDLINE as well as out-of-scope citations from additional general science and chemistry journals whose life sciences articles are indexed in MEDLINE. PubMed also indexes additional life science journal articles that submit full text to PubMed Central.
  • Compendex (EICompendex) -
    • Covers the entire spectrum of engineering, including journals, conference papers & technical reports. Besides applied engineering, coverage also extends to manufacturing, quality control, and engineering management issues. 
  • INSPEC-
    • Provides over 9 million citations and abstracts to journal articles, conference papers, books, reports and dissertations in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, information technology, production,manufacturing and mechanical engineering. It also has significant coverage in areas such as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering and biophysics.  
  • NOTE:  Search BOTH Compendex and INSPEC by selecting both databases on the search platform
  • ACM Guide to Computing Literature
    • A collection of more than 750,000 citations from 3,000+ publishers, including ACM. It covers books, journal articles, conference proceedings, doctoral dissertations, master's theses, and technical reports. Links to full text in the ACM Digital Library.
  • ACM Digital Library
    • Citations and full-text of articles from Association for Computing Machinery journals, magazines, and conference proceedings.
  • IEEEXplore
    • Full-text of journal articles, conference papers, and technical standards from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE).
  • SCOPUS
    • An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. Scopus provides access to a broad portfolio of peer-reviewed content from around the world.
  • Google Scholar 
    • Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.