Anthropology and Archaeology

A guide to library resources related to anthropology and archaeology.

tDAR or The Digital Archaeological Record

tDAR is an international digital archive and repository that houses data about archaeological investigations, research, resources, and scholarship. tDAR provides researchers new avenues to discover and integrate information relevant to topics they are studying. Users can search tDAR for digital documents, data sets, images, GIS files, and other data resources from archaeological projects spanning the globe. For data sets, users also can use data integration tools in tDAR to simplify and illuminate comparative research.

Anthropology Databases

Anthropology Plus
Search for journal articles, reports, and materials in anthropology and archaeology from the 18th century to the present, covering 50+ languages with monthly updates.
Anthrosource
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals published by the American Anthropological Association, covering all subfields of anthropology.
eHRAF Archaeology
Coverage: 1975+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
eHRAF Archaeology is a cross-cultural database with information on the prehistory of the world. It is organized by regions and archaeological traditions, and each tradition consists of a general summary and full text documents. The full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level, and include books, journal articles, dissertations, and manuscripts resources. eHRAF Archaeology is a unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies and research.
Alternate titles: Electronic Human Relations Area Files, HRAF, eHRAF Collection of Archaeology
eHRAF World Cultures
Coverage: 1800+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
eHRAF World Cultures database is a collection of thousands of books and articles on cultures from all regions of the world. eHRAF is interdisciplinary and provides ethnographic research for anyone interested in specific data on a particular ethnic group, culture or country, and for researchers investigating topics like kinship, or settlement patterns on a comparative cross-cultural basis. The database is unique in that sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level, which allows precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
Alternate titles: Electronic Human Relations Area File, HRAF, eHRAF Collection of Ethnography
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Coverage: 1973+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Indexes books, conferences, dissertations, theses, and scholarly journals on the nature and use of language. Covers linguistics (nature and structure of human speech); language (speech sounds, sentence and word structure, meaning, spelling, phonetics); and pathology of speech, language, and hearing.
Alternate titles: LLBA

Evolutionary Anthropology

Anthropology Plus
Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
Anthrosource
Includes access to full text of journals published by the American Anthropological Association.
PrimateLit: a bibliographic database for primatology
The PrimateLit database provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities. Coverage of the database spans 1940 to 2010 (articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc..
Zoological Record Plus
Zoological Record Plus (ZR Plus), produced by Thomson Scientific, and formerly by BIOSIS and the Zoological Society of London, provides coverage of the world's zoological and animal science literature, covering research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine.

Related Databases

Academic Search Ultimate
Access to popular press magazines and peer-reviewed scholarly journals across various academic disciplines, including open-access journals and historic Associated Press videos.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Bibliography of Native North Americans includes primarily journal articles, but also citations for books and government documents, covering American Indian Studies and all disciplines focused on the Indigenous peoples of North America.
Coverage: 1500+
Dissertations & Theses @ Arizona State University
Coverage: 1954-1979 (index only), 1979+ (full text of the dissertations included)
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
A searchable database for full text, citations and abstracts of ASU dissertations
Google Scholar (with Library Links)
Find scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed journal articles, books, theses and dissertations, conference papers, pre-prints, technical reports, and other publications for all research disciplines. The link enables ASU affiliates to include ASU Library’s full text and InterLibrary Loan Services in a search.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Coverage: 1970+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Indexes worldwide information on Central & South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.- Mexico border region, &Hispanics in the United States. Covers analyses of current political, economic & social issues, & Latin American arts & letters.
Alternate titles: HAPI
JSTOR
Access millions of articles, books, and primary sources, focusing on back issues of scholarly journals; an essential resource for research in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes AI assistant: JSTOR's interactive research tool.
PubMed
Citations of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books are available; may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
Scopus
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including journals, proceedings, and patents. It offers tools for citation analysis, research tracking, and collaboration. Includes AI assistant: Scopus AI, for enhanced research with natural language searches, summaries, and expert identification.