Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Citation Management Tools

This guide includes information about citation management tools, or applications used to organize your references, generate bibliographies, and collaborate with others.

About EndNote

EndNote Desktop is a reference managing application for the desktop and iPad that you can purchase on your own. These are some of its features:

  • Unlimited reference storage
  • 3,300+ bibliographic styles
  • 5GB of file storage
  • Online search of several hundred databases
  • Webpage reference capture
  • One-click Find Full Text
  • Automatic reference updating
  • Annotate and search PDF text, notes, and annotations
  • Complex bibliography handling tools
  • Multiple bibliography capability
  • Composite references
  • Journal abbreviations recognition and standardization

EndNote Online is a limited, free version of the desktop/iPad application. It provides users with the following features: 

  • Store up to 50,000 references
  • 21 bibliographic styles
  • 2GB of file storage
  • Online search of the 6 most popular databases
  • Webpage reference capture

EndNote Web of Knowledge is an online component available to all ASU affiliates for free. It increases the number of bibliographic styles from 21 to 3,300+. After accessing Web of Knowledge, use the EndNote tab to create your free account. 


Once you have EndNote Desktop, you can use the following URLs to add full-text PDFs to your library. They will only work when pasted into EndNote Desktop. To be able access our databases using EndNote search, go to the Preferences/Find Full Text screen, enter the following URLs, and apply:

After you authenticate with your ASURITE and password, you will see a page menu page for our proxy server listing library resources showing login was successful.

Vendor Information

How to download, install, and use EndNote

EndNote Homepage: Members of the ASU Community can buy a discounted version of EndNote Desktop by calling 1-215-823-1767 or sending an email directly to jim.lyons@clarivate.com and using the discount code LIBRARY. This applies to individual or group license purchases only. Site licenses, prior purchases, or purchases made through another vendor do not qualify for this offer.

EndNote Online Homepage: Install and use the free EndNote Web.

EndNote Video Channel: Step-by-step video instructions for the desktop and iPad applications on EndNote YouTube Channel.

Compare EndNote desktop app with the online component.

EndNote X8 Little How-to Book

PDF Quick Reference Cards:

Hours and Locations