Login to LibApps

Citation Management Tools: Citation Generating Tools

This guide includes information about citation management tools, or applications used to organize your references, generate bibliographies, and collaborate with others.

Generate Citations from Library One Search / ASU Library Catalog

This section demonstrate how to generate citations, copy and paste them into your document for immediate use, without using a citation manager. You should always check all citation elements for missing or erroneous parts.

Library One Search (service provided by RefWorks)

  1. Once you locate an item in Library One Search, use the Save this Item icon to add it to your Saved Items. You can add and cite as many items as you want.
  2. Open your Saved Items to generate citations in a number of styles (APA, AMA, MLA, Uniform, Chicago/Trubian Author-Date, Harvard). A new window will open.
  3. Select your desired citation style. Copy the citation (or citations) and paste it to your document. You can also export them to RefWorks, EndNote, or BibTex.
  4. The itmes in your Saved Items box will be deleted once you close it.

 

ASU Library Catalog (service provided by WorldCat)

  1. Once you locate an item in the ASU Library Catalog, click the Cite this Item link to generate citations in a number of styles (APA, Chicago Author-Date, Harvard, MLA, Turabian).
  2. Select the citation in your desired style. A new window will open.
  3. Copy the citation and paste it to your document. 

WorldCat is providing this service (use the Cite this Item link once inside WordCat). Please note that not all items are included in this service.


Generate Citations from Citation Services Websites

Website Services for Generating Citations (mostly free)

KnightCite: Generates citations in the following styles: MLA (7th ed.), APA (6th ed.), and Chicago (16th ed.). Covers many source types. The service is provided by the Hekman Library of Calvin College.
EasyBib: Citations are generated in MLA style only (adidtional citation styles are available for paying account holders). Covers a long list of source types. Registared users can save their bibliogrpahies online.
BibMe: Generates citations in the following styles: MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. Covers a limited number of source types. Users must register for a free account.
Son of Citation Machine: Generates citations in the following styles: MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. Covers a limited number of source types.
Make Citation: Generates citations in the following styles: MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian, IEEE, ASAS, SSF, Harvard, and Vancouver, however covers a very limited number of source types.

Tweet2Cite: A free utility that can take the URL of any tweet and generate citations in either MLA or APA format.

These citation generators are not integrated with ASU Library's article databases or catalog.

Hours and Locations