Theatre for Youth and Community Collection
This guide is to engage researchers and community members with the history of theatre for young audiences and drama in education.
Finding Plays
For We The Young by
In For We the Young, a collection of plays by one of Australia's most beloved writers of theatre for young people, Finegan Kruckemeyer offers a glimpse into worlds of quiet sorrow and deep joy, daring feats and ingenious leaps. His quirky humour and surprising stories release the imagination and let it run wild, trailing images and words behind like so many footprints in the snow. Read the introduction by Meg Upton here Cover design Andy Ellis.
ISBN: 9781760622763Publication date: 2020
Concord Floral by
The Decameron meets I Know What You Did Last Summer in this supernatural thriller of suburban teenagers fleeing a mysterious plague, from an award-winning Canadian playwright. Concord Floral is a one-million-square-foot abandoned greenhouse and a refuge for neighbourhood kids; a place all to themselves in which to dream, dare, and come of age. But hidden there is a secret no one wants to confront, and when two friends stumble upon it they set off an unstoppable chain of events, from shadows in parking lots to phone calls from the grave. It's time for the teens of Concord Floral to start talking. Jordan Tannahill's play Concord Floral was premiered in November 2014 at Toronto's The Theatre Centre, in a production by Suburban Beast presented by Why Not Theatre. The production was subsequently toured across Canada. Concord Floral won the 2015 Dora Award for 'Outstanding New Play', and the 2015 Carol Bolt Award, and was a finalist for the 2016 Governor General's Award for Drama.
ISBN: 9781770914957Publication date: 2016-10-11
Alicia in Wonder Tierra (or I Can't Eat Goat Head) - Touring by ISBN: 0871295989Publication date: 1996-03-01
Theatre for Youth in Context
Theatre, Youth, and Culture by
There is a complex relationship between performance, youth, and the shifting material circumstances (social, cultural, economic, ideological, and political) under which theatre for children and youth is generated and perceived. This book explores different aspect of theatre for young audiences using examples from theatrical events globally.
ISBN: 9780230120198Publication date: 2012-12-05
Moscow Theatres for Young People by
This book shows how the totalitarian ideology of the Soviet period shaped the practices of Soviet theatre for youth. It weaves together politics, pedagogy and aesthetics to reveal the complex intersections between theatre and its socio-historical conditions. It paints a picture of the theatrical developments from 1917 through to the new millennium.
ISBN: 1403972982Publication date: 2006-05-24
The Happy Island by
This study is the first to examine in a systematic manner the image of childhood that emerges from one of the earliest manifestations of juvenile literature, the eighteenth-century French thé?tre d'éducation. As cultivated by a dozen or so authors between 1769 and 1800, it was a sub-genre intended to amuse as well as instruct, a stage not only with children but for children. In creating what is perhaps the most important literary image of childhood in their era, these dramatists relied not only on their adult visualizations, but also on the optimistic vision of an age affected by new moral and sentimental demands. Thus they were able to translate their belief in the vital, dynamic quality of youth into an almost pervasive concept: the inherent goodness of children and their ability to perceive the true nature of the world.
ISBN: 0820404462Publication date: 1987-07-01
ASU Faculty: Featured Works
Arizona State University has an internationally recognized program in Theatre for Youth and Community. Here are a few items in recent publication that highlights work by faculty.
Theatre for Youth Third Space by
Theatre for Youth Third Space is a practical yet philosophically grounded handbook for people working in theater and performance with children and youth in community or educational settings. Presenting asset development approaches, deliberative dialogue techniques, and frames for building strong community relationships, Stephani Etheridge Woodson shares multiple project models that are firmly grounded in the latest community cultural development practices. Guiding readers step by step through project planning, creating safe environments, and using evaluation protocols, Theatre for Youth Third Space will be an invaluable resource for both teaching and practice.
ISBN: 9781783205318Publication date: 2015-12-15
The Routledge Companion to Drama in Education by
The Routledge Companion to Drama in Education is a comprehensive reference guide to this unique performance discipline, focusing on its process-oriented theatrical techniques, engagement of a broad spectrum of learners, its historical roots as a field of inquiry and its transdisciplinary pedagogical practices. The book approaches drama in education (DE) from a wide range of perspectives, from leading scholars to teaching artists and school educators who specialise in DE teaching. It presents the central disciplinary conversations around key issues, including best practice in DE, aesthetics and artistry in teaching, the histories of DE, ideologies in drama and education, and concerns around access, inclusivity and justice. Including reflections, lesson plans, programme designs, case studies and provocations from scholars, educators and community arts workers, this is the most robust and comprehensive resource for those interested in DE's past, present and future.
ISBN: 9781003000914Publication date: 2022-05-23
Drama and Education by
Drama and Education provides a practical, comprehensive guide to drama as a tool for teaching and learning. It is among the first practical drama and performance textbooks that address brain-based, neuroscientific research, making the argument that creativity is necessary in our lives, that embodied learning is natural and essential, and that contextual learning helps us find our place in society in relationship to other peoples and cultures. As well as a historical and theoretical overview of the field, it provides rationale and techniques for several specific methodologies: linear drama, process-oriented drama, drama for social justice, and performance art. Each approach is supplemented with sample lesson plans, activities, ideas for differentiation, and extensive bibliographies. The topics are discussed from five key angles: * Historical and theoretical foundations * Curricular applications * Practical toolkits for a range of classrooms and learning environments * Different strategies for lesson plans * Extension options for longer workshops. Alongside these core methods, the integration of other innovative forms--from performance art to Theatre of the Oppressed--into drama-based learning is explored, as well as the pragmatic concerns such as assessment, planning, and advocacy for arts learning and arts education partnerships. Drama and Education is the comprehensive textbook for teachers and students on Applied Theatre and Theatre and Education courses.
ISBN: 1317628934Publication date: 2015-02-20
Suggested plays
Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy, Cheryl West.
And in This Corner: Cassius Clay, by Idris Goodwin
Dont u love me? by Linda Daugherty.
Cinderella Eats Rice and Beans: a Salsa Fairy Tale, by Karen Zacarías.
Bocon, by Lisa Boomer.
Elsewhere in Elsinore: The Unseen Women in Hamlet, by Caleen Sinnette Jennings
Finding monologues
National Theatre Black Plays Archive: Catalogue for the first professional production of every African, Caribbean and Black British play produced in Britain.
Non-binary Monologues Project: Includes monologues from non-binary, gender fluid, genderqueer, asexual, trans masculine and trans feminine characters.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
