Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Landscape Architecture Resources

-- Key Resources to support Landscape Architecture research at Arizona State University

Selected Titles

Oxford Art Online
This resource includes: Grove Art Online, a reference for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the 1990s; The Oxford Companion to Western Art; The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics; and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Covers information on artists, worldwide art, artistic techniques, and other art-related topics. Includes coverage of such relevant subjects as: environmental art, individual landscape architects and garden designers, garden art, etc. 

Encyclopedia of Global Change

The 300 authoritative articles in this unique and wide-ranging encyclopedia investigate all types of phenomena that change life on Earth. The entries cover a range of general research categories: altered ecosystems, climate change, food and water supply, population, politics and global change, institutions and policies, biographies, and case studies. Includes articles on topics such as: Land Reclamation, Land Use – Land Use Planning, Desertification, Parks and Natural Preserves – Ecological Value, Wilderness – Ecological Character, etc. 

Knovel
A collection of reference handbooks, databases and conference proceedings in technical fields. Permits searching across and within titles.
Selected full-text titles of potential relevance include:

 

Reference and Guidebook E-Books

Constructed climates: a primer on urban environments.
Chicago; London: The University of Chicago Press, 2011. 

Encyclopedia of environment and society
Thousand Oaks : Sage Publications, c2007.

Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science
Los Angeles : SAGE Publications, c2008.   

A Guide to the great gardens of the Philadelphia region
Philadelphia : Temple University Press, 2007.

Holistic management handbook: healthy land, healthy profits
Washington, D.C. : Island Press, c2006.

Landscape architect's pocket book.
Amsterdam ; London : Architectural, 2009.

Measuring landscapes: a planner's handbook
Washington, DC : Island Press, c2006.

The Planting design handbook
2ND ed. Aldershot, Hants, England ; Burlington, VT, USA : Ashgate, c2004.

Taylor's dictionary for gardeners: the definitive guide to the language of horticulture
Boston, Mass. : Houghton Mifflin Co., 1997.

Tags: design

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.