Research Data Management and Sharing
Need more help?
Research Data Sharing and Management Support
Research data is the recorded factual material commonly accepted in the scientific community as necessary to validate research findings. Research Data Management is the organization, management, publication and preservation of research products.
The ASU Library provides support for data management planning and sharing, open access and open data publishing, copyright and rights management which foster reproducible and responsible research as part of ASU's Research Data Management support structure.
This guide provides several resources (links located in the left-hand menu) including:
- Current information regarding Federal Policies
- How to get ASU Library Researcher Support
- Directory of ASU Services for Data Services
- Information on data sharing requirements for National Institutes of Health, National Science Foundation, and National Endowment for the Humanities.
- Guidance on best practices for managing, sharing, and citing research data.
- Directory of discipline-specific repositories for research data
- Suggested Readings
The links located on the the left navigation panel, also provide more information to help:
- Create a Data Management Plan (DMP)
- Find research data sharing and storage options
- Cite research data from your projects and others
- Use our tutorials to learn skills related to data sharing and management
With data as with pizza, it’s considered good manners to share. Whereas pizza sharing is a private affair, data sharing is how good citizens of science give collaborators and strangers access to results generated mainly or entirely with public funds.
Marx, V. To share is to be a scientist. Nat Methods (2023). https://doi.org/10.1038/s41592-023-01927-7
Federal Policies
- NIH 2023 Data Management and Sharing Policy GuideCritical information regarding the upcoming changes to creating a Data Management and Sharing Plan for National Institutes of Health grant proposals. Curated by the ASU Library
ASU Library Researcher Support
Research Data Sharing and Management is supported by ASU Library Researcher Support
We connect researchers with experts and resources from the ASU Library to assist you with all of your research and publishing needs. Researcher Support offers guidance across the research lifecycle, everything from planning to data storage, in an effort to maximize the quality, productivity and accessibility of ASU research.
Our team provides support for data management planning, open access and open data publishing, copyright and rights management and more. We have experts and resources in assessing your information need, identifying partnerships, evaluating publications and author agreements, fulfill grant requirements, provide access to primary resources, and preserving and archiving your work.
Contact us for help with your project and publishing your research data
ASU Services
- Research Academy
ASU research project and proposal training and events registration system. (Guest or ASU login required) - Research Computing
Academic supercomputing facility, providing high-performance and high-throughput computing environments to support research data needs particularly in active computational analysis and management. - Office of Research Data ManagementRDM @ ASU provides research data management services and technology solutions for Arizona State University research projects. They assist with the preparation of data management plans, undertake technology needs assessments for your project, provide subsidized computing resources and data storage, and assist with data publication.
- The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR)
Center for Digital Antiquity international archaeological digital archive and repository. Contribute, preserve, access, and use archeological data.
Additional Information
Data Sharing Requirements
Once you know your policy, you can also check out our guidance on finding a research data repositories.
Check our data management plan (DMP) checklist to help you get started.
- Data Sharing Requirements by Federal AgencyList of data sharing requirements by Federal Agency through SPARC
- Ensuring Free, Immediate, and Equitable Access to Federally Funded Research August 25, 2022 OSTP Memo (PDF)Policy guidance to federal agencies with research and development expenditures on updating their public access policies.
- SPARC Federal Data sharing Policy UpdatesSPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition). This is a community resource that allows for tracking, understanding, and comparison of current U.S. federal funder research data sharing policies
Best Practice
- Best Practices for File NamingFrom the official blog of the Office of the Chief Records Office at the (United States) National Archives.
- File Naming ConventionsA systematic method for naming files from HURIDOCS (Human Rights Information and Documentation Systems).
- ASU's Electronic Research Notebook system.An Electronic Research Notebook (ERN), often referred to as an electronic laboratory notebook (ELN), is a multi-functional data manager to help consolidate your research information in one place.
Repositories
- ASU Dataverse Research Datainterdisciplinary research data repository powered by Dataverse, an open-source research data repository software that allows researchers to share, preserve, cite, explore, and analyze research data.
- The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR)The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR) is an international digital repository for the digital records of archaeological investigations.
- re3dataA directory of discipline specific repositories for research data
Suggested Readings
Data Management for Researchers by ISBN: 9781784270117Publication date: 2015-09-01A comprehensive guide to everything scientists need to know about data management, this book is essential for researchers who need to learn how to organize, document and take care of their own data. Researchers in all disciplines are faced with the challenge of managing the growing amounts of digital data that are the foundation of their research.
Managing and Sharing Research Data by ISBN: 1526460262Publication date: 2019-11-20Written by experts at the UK Data Archive, with over thirty years of experience in working with and teaching people to work with data, this book is the globally-reaching guide for any postgraduate student or researcher looking to build their data management skills.
Reflections on Sharing Clinical Trial Data by ISBN: 9780309679152Publication date: 2020-11-20On November 18 and 19, 2019, the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine hosted a public workshop in Washington, DC, titled Sharing Clinical Trial Data: Challenges and a Way Forward. The workshop followed the release of the 2015 Institute of Medicine (IOM) consensus study report Sharing Clinical Trial Data: Maximizing Benefits, Minimizing Risk, and was designed to examine the current state of clinical trial data sharing and reuse and to consider ways in which policy, technology, incentives, and governance could be leveraged to further encourage and enhance data sharing. This publication summarizes the presentations and discussions from the workshop.
Trusted Data, Revised and Expanded Edition by ISBN: 0262356066Publication date: 2019-11-12How to create an Internet of Trusted Data in which insights from data can be extracted without collecting, holding, or revealing the underlying data. Trusted Data describes a data architecture that places humans and their societal values at the center of the discussion. By involving people from all parts of the ecosystem of information, this new approach allows us to realize the benefits of data-driven algorithmic decision making while minimizing the risks and unintended consequences.
- Ten simple rules for getting and giving credit for data
This link opens in a new window
By Wood-Charlson EM, Crockett Z,Erdmann C, et.al., This article summarizes current best practices that support the movement toward enabling researchers to vote and receive credit for their data. - Ten simple rules for maximizing the recommendations of the NIH data management and sharing plan
- This link opens in a new window
This article provides ten critical recommendations for creating a data management and Sharing Plan (DMSP) that is both maximally compliant and effective for the January 2023 National Institutes of Health (NIH) Policy for Data Management and Sharing. - How to make your scientific data accessible, discoverable and usefulSpecialists offer seven tips for effectively sharing your data. 2023 Springer Nature
- The Turing Way handbook: Research Data Management
The Turing Way handbook guides reproducible, ethical, and collaborative data science. This section covers background and practical applications for managing and sharing research data.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
