CHM 338: Organic Chemistry for Majors II

• Merck Index 
  Several print copies are on Reserve at the Noble Library Information Desk, please ask for it by its title and call number (RS51 .M4)
  • Find the "Organic Name Reactions" using the Table of Contents.
  • Reactions are arranged alphabetically within the section.
  • Underneath the title of the reaction is the reference(s) where the reaction was first introduced in the literature followed by a brief description of the reaction; after the description is a list of references that give more information about the reaction.
  • Look up all of these references (see the "How to Find References" tab on this guide for instructions).

• Named organic reactions 
  Available on the MyiLibrary platform.
  • PLEASE DO NOT DOWNLOAD THE WHOLE BOOK as this will leave only one copy available online; instead, view the reactions online and save/print only the reactions you'll pick for your top 3. 
  • To open the table of contents, click on the "Table of Contents" tab in the right-hand column. 
  • Browse through the reactions names and click on one you'd like to see
  • Also look up the references in the list of references at the end of the reaction's description (see the "How to Find References" tab on this guide for instructions).
    
     
• Name reactions and reagents in organic synthesis 
  Available via the Knovel platform
  • Use the table of contents to find the entry for a specific reaction or browse through the book to determine which reactions you'd like to choose.
  • Look up the references in the list of references at the end of the reaction's description (see the "How to Find References" tab on this guide for instructions).
    
     
• Organic Chemistry by Beyer & Walter 
  Available via the Knovel platform
  • Use the appendix which has a section (starting at the bottom of page 935) that lists named organic reactions - for each reaction you'll get a brief description along with the page number in the book where the reaction is described in more detail.  
  • Unfortunately, the appendix is not hyperlinked to the pages within the book, so return to the table of contents and use the search box at the top right of the contents - enter in the name of the reaction to find where it is mentioned within the text. 
  • Look up the appropriate references in the footnotes (see the "How to Find References" tab on this guide for instructions).
     

• Organic Chemistry Portal: Name Reactions 
  Website
  • Use the alphabetical list to find the entry for a specific reaction or browse through the book to determine which reactions you'd like to choose.
  • This website is not considered to be a scholarly resource. 
  • Look up the appropriate references in the list of references at the end of the reaction's description (see the "How to Find References" tab on this guide for instructions).
    
     
• Organic syntheses based on name reactions: practical guide to 750 transformations 
  Available via the Knovel platform. 
  • Use the table of contents to find the entry for a specific reaction or browse through the book to determine which reactions you'd like to choose.
  • Look up the appropriate references in the list of references at the end of the reaction's description (see the "How to Find References" tab on this guide for instructions).
    
     
• Strategic applications of named reactions in organic synthesis : background and detailed mechanisms 
  In addition to the online version, a print copy of this book has been requested for course reserve and will be held at the Noble Library Information Desk; please ask for it by title and call number (QD262 .K86 2005).  
  • Use search box in the lower left corner of the book's home page or use the search box at the top of the left column once inside the book.
  • Descriptions of the reactions are in Section VII, pages 1-500
  • References mentioned in the reactions are in Section IX,  pages 531-714

Unfortunately, all references talking about your reaction will not be listed in the resources above.  You'll need to look in other resources to find those other materials 

• Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology 
  This encyclopedia does not have separate entries specifically for organic named reactions but you can search for the reaction by name to find where the reaction is mentioned within the encyclopedia's articles.  This is a way that you can find out in what applications this reaction may be used. 
  • Put your reaction in the encyclopedia's search box (do not limit the search to just certain part of the article, leave the search set to look at all parts)
  • When you get the results list, click on the HTML display for each item and use the CONTROL-F command to find where in the article your reaction is mentioned. 
  • Look up any references that pertain to that information.
     
• SciFinder
  This compliation of databases is the premier resource in the areas of pure and applied chemistry as it extensively covers the chemical literature, properties of substances, reactions, supplier availability and regulatory information. For this assignment you'll be using SciFinder for both finding more references about your reaction, especially REVIEW articles. 
  • If you have not already done so, you'll need to register to get an account. 
  • Once you have an account set up, use the default "Research Topic" search and enter the name of the reaction in the search box.
  • You'll get a screen that will probably offer you two choices, one in which only references that use your exact wording and a second option for those references that contain the "concept" related to your wording.  The second option will always be the larger set and that's the set that you should choose
  • Once you have the reference list on the screen, go to the left column and click on the "Refine" tab: 
    • First select "Document Type" and then select "Review"
    • Next, go back tot he "Refine" tab and this time, select "Publication Year" and then put in the box 2010-2014, so that you are limiting the results to just review articles from the past 5 years. 
    • You can also refine the search to just English language as well. 
  • Once you have refined your results, scan the references for useful articles.  You can get to the full text by clicking on the select box to the left of the reference and then clicking on "Get Full Text" on the white navigation bar at the top of the list. 
    
     
• Chemical Reviews 
  A journal from the American Chemical Society that publishes review articles on variety of chemical topics.  Use the search box towards the upper right of the screen to search for your reaction. 
  
   
• You can also find review articles referenced in the Merck Index, listed above. 

Why are review articles important?    Review articles summarize the literature on a specific topic; they'll tell you how this topic came about, who worked on what and when, analyze what has happened in the field and what still needs to researched.   Essentially a well-done review article can mean less work for you because the author has already covered most of the literature and found the most influential articles - all you need to do is cover the literature that came out after that review was published. 

• Name reactions and reagents in organic synthesis 
  Available via the Knovel platform
  • Use the table of contents to find the entry for a specific reagent.
  • Also look up the appropriate references in the list of references at the end of the reagent's description (see the "How to Find References" tab on this guide for instructions).
    
     
• Handbook of reagents for organic synthesis
  QD77 .H37 1999 Science Reference (vols 1-7, 9)
  • Use the index in the back of each volume to see if the reagent is listed.
  • Look up the appropriate references (see the "How to Find References" tab on this guide for instructions).
    
     
• Reagents for organic synthesis (Fieser & Fieser) 
  QD262 .F5 Science Reference (vols 1-24, 
  • Collective index for volumes 1-22 is located at the end of the set.
  • Reagents are listed by name, element, reaction, synthetic target and natural product target. 
  • Use the reaction index to determine what reagents are/can be used in your type of reaction
  • Look up the appropriate references (see the "How to Find References" tab on this guide for instructions).