None of the resources you will be using for this assigment have the yellow "Get It @ ASU" button to link you to the full text. SciFinder has a "Get Full Text" feature that transfer you into "Get It @ ASU" but all the rest just give you a citation that you must manually track down. Here's how to find a book or journal article from its citation.
A citation is a description of a work (such as a book, journal article, film, etc.) so that the reader may be able to:
Determine if they would like to read the full text of the item, and if yes,
Be able to find the full text.
The modern style of citation consists of the following components ...
For a book:
Author(s) of the book
Title of the book
Edition number if not the first
Place of Publication
Date of Publication
Example ... Frinquelli, Francesco. The Diels-Alder reaction: selected practical methods. New York: Wiley, 2002
For a journal article:
Author(s) of the article
Title of the article
Full Title of the Journal in which the article is located
Volume number, issue number, and pages on which the article is located (or DOI if article is published only online)
Date of Publication
Example ... Ozawa, Takuya; Kurahashi, Takuya; and Matsubara, Seijiro. (2011) Dehydrogenative Diels-Adler Reaction. Organic Letters 13 (19), pp 5390-5393.
In the early days of scientific publishing, when there were very few journals published, everything was in print, and publishers needed to save paper, the journal references were written in a very abbreviated style. In addition to seeing this style in old publications, you'll still find some remnants of the old style in the current literature. Shortcuts used in citing were initializing authors' first and middle names, omitting the title of the article, abbreviating the journal title, omitting the issue number and the end page. The above journal article citation written in this old style would look like ...
Ozawa, T, et al. Org. Lett. 13 5390
In this assignment, you'll be finding both the modern and old style citations. Below are the instructions on how to find the full text for these.
If the citation contains the title of the book or journal article ...
If the citation contains the title of the book or journal article, search the TITLE in the Library One Search database. To make the search even more exact, use quote marks around the title just as you would when doing phrase searching in Google.
If you can't find the journal article in Library One Search, use Methods #2-4 in the instructions below for how to find a journal article without the article title.
If the Citation Does NOT Have a Title for the Journal Article
When you have an old style article citation that does not include the article's title, you'll need to try several other methods of finding the full text. Unfortunately, it's seldom possible to determine by just looking at the citation which of these methods will work, so you'll need to keep trying one method at a time.
Example Citation: E. Ciganek, Org. React.4, 1-59 (1948)
The author's last name only in the "Written/Created by" box,
The full journal title (journal abbreviations won't work; if you don't know the journal's full name, see the box below about deciphering journal title abbreviations) in the "From this publication" box,
The volume number in the "Volume" box, and
The publication year in the "Dates published from" boxes
Method #2: Journal Title List
Go to the Libraries home page
In the Library One Search box, click on the "Journals" tab
Use the first search to see if we have the journal available online; put the journal title in the bo (you CAN use abbreviations but using the full journal title may be more accurate)
If you find the journal check the dates of coverage
If we have the year you need, click the link and once at the journal's site, find volume, issue, pages, year for your article
If we don't have the journal available online OR if we have some of the journal but not the year you need ...
Return to the Libraries home page and click on the Journals tab again
Use the second search box to see if we have the journal in print; In the second search box put the journal's full title (the journal abbreviations will not work;if you don't know the journal's full name, see the box below about deciphering journal title abbreviations)
If we have the journal, check the volumes/years to see if we have the one you need, if yes,
Write down the location and call number, go to the shelf and using the year, volume, issue, and pages find the article.
Method #3: Free Web
This method can be used to determine is an article has been posted on the web and/or to see if you can find out more information about the article.
Go to Google
In the search box put the citation (do not put the quotes marks around the citation)
If the article is available either in full text or in a citation format that gives more information, you should be able to see it on the first or second page of results.
If you have used all these methods, you can safely assume that The ASU Library does not have the article available, see the box below about "How to Get an Article that's not Available in the ASU Library"
If the ASU Library doesn't have the article you need, fill out an Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) request form. If you have never used the ILLiad system before, you'll need to register first by clicking on the red "first time user" link on the login screen. A scanned PDF copy of the article will be deposited in your account usually within 24-72 hours.
If you need a whole book (not just an article or selected pages within a book), you may also use the ILLiad service to request books from other partner libraries.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.