MIC 302: Advanced Bacteriology
Need more help?
On Reserve at Noble Library
-
Bergey's manual of determinative bacteriologyCovers the nature of bacterial identification schemes, the differentiation of procaryotic from eucaryotic microorganisms, and major categories and groups of bacteria. It is available at the information desk for 2-hr checkout.
Microbiology Manuals
-
The Prokaryotes (2006) - vol 1Volume 1: Symbiotic associations, Biotechnology, Applied Microbiology
-
The Prokaryotes (2006) - vol 2Volume 2: Ecophysiology and Biochemistry
-
The Prokaryotes (2006) - vol 3Volume 3: Archaea. Bacteria: Firmicutes, Actinomycetes
-
The Prokaryotes (2006) - vol 4Volume 4: Bacteria: Firmicutes, Cyanobacteria
-
The Prokaryotes (2006) - vol 5Volume 5: Proteobacteria: Alpha and Beta Subclasses
-
The Prokaryotes (2006) - vol 6Volume 6: Proteobacteria: Gamma Subclass
-
The Prokaryotes (2006) - vol 7Volume 7: Proteobacteria: Delta, Epsilon Subclass
-
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology, Vol 1, 2nd ed, 2001The Archaea and the Deeply Branching and Phototrophic Bacteria
-
Bergey's Manual® of Systematic Bacteriology, Vol 2, 2nd ed, 2005 - Part AThe Proteobacteria, Part A Introductory Essays
-
Bergey's Manual® of Systematic Bacteriology, Vol 2, 2nd ed, 2005 - Part BThe Proteobacteria Part B The Gammaproteobacteri
-
Bergey's Manual® of Systematic Bacteriology, Vol 2, 2nd ed, 2005 - Part CThe Proteobacteria Part C The Alpha-, Beta-, Delta-, and Epsilonproteobacteria
-
Bergey's Manual® of Systematic Bacteriology, Vol 4, 2nd ed, 2010The Bacteroidetes, Spirochaetes, Tenericutes (Mollicutes), Acidobacteria, Fibrobacteres, Fusobacteria, Dictyoglomi, Gemmatimonadetes, Lentisphaerae, Verrucomicrobia, Chlamydiae, and Planctomycetes
-
Bergey's Manual® of Systematic Bacteriology, Vol 5, 2nd ed, 2012The Actinobacteria
-
Current Protocols in MicrobiologyCurrent Protocols in Microbiolgy presents clear methodologies for research in priority areas such as infectious diseases, biodefense, microbe-host interactions, and host defense.
-
Nature ProtocolsNature Protocols is an interactive online resource for laboratory protocols for bench researchers.
-
KnovelElectronic library of Science and Engineering reference material containing many biotechnology resources.
Search for Articles
Use one of the following databases to search for articles.
-
Academic Search UltimateA multidisciplinary article database which covers thousands of mostly English-language popular magazines and scholarly (including peer-reviewed) journals. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
-
Biological SciencesThis database covers a wide variety of biological resources including: Algology, Mycology, Protozoology, Bacteriology, Immunology, Industrial and Applied Microbiology, and Virology. Coverage is from 1982 -
-
JSTORThis database provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences.
-
KnovelFull text collection of several thousand reference works for most areas of engineering, technology and the sciences. Works include handbooks, manuals, encyclopedias, data compilations and regular texts. In addition to keyword searching, features also include property data searching, periodic table, a unit converter and interactive equations.
-
Nucleic Acid AbstractsDetailed perspectives on innovative cloning and sequencing strategies are available in this database.
-
PubMedSearch for articles on all biomedical topics including:
Biochemistry; Biology; Food Sciences; Health Sciences; Medicine; Microbiology; Nursing; Nutrition; Physiology; Public Health; Speech and Hearing -
ScopusAbstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. Scopus provides access to a broad portfolio of peer-reviewed content.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Use Interlibrary Loan to request materials (articles, books, etc.) that you need, but are not in the ASU Library collection. This is a free service for students, staff, and faculty.
Interlibrary Loan FAQ
Formatting Your Lab Report
Use the For Authors page for the Journal of Bacteriology as the guide to format your lab reports.
The print manual is also available through the Library:
ASM Style Manual for Journals and Books. Washington D.C: American Society for Microbiology, 1991. Print.
Video Resources
-
Films on DemandThere are many academic videos on a wide variety of subjects, including microbiology.
-
JOVE: BiologyThe Journal of Visualized Experiments includes new and standard techniques in physical biology, cellular biochemistry, genetics, physiology, systems biology and a combination of eukaryotic and prokaryotic model systems.
-
JOVE: NeuroscienceMethodologies presented range from molecular and cellular level studies to full central and peripheral neural systems. Potential treatment platforms and surgical techniques for neurological diseases and disorders are also presented.
-
KanopyKanopy is a video streaming solution for colleges offering a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad selection of over 26,000 documentaries, feature films, and educational videos from thousands of producers.
Textbook
-
Parker, N., Schneegurt, M., Thi Tu, A.-H., Lister, P., & Forster, B. M. (2016). Microbiology. OpenStax. "Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health. The pedagogical features of the text make the material interesting and accessible while maintaining the career-application focus and scientific rigor inherent in the subject matter. Microbiology’s art program enhances students’ understanding of concepts through clear and effective illustrations, diagrams, and photographs. Microbiology is produced through a collaborative publishing agreement between OpenStax and the American Society for Microbiology Press. The book aligns with the curriculum guidelines of the American Society for Microbiology."
Microbiology Bar Chart
-
Microbiology, BarCharts Inc. by This reference answers the most important questions that form the foundation of Microbiology within 6 laminated pages. Carry this core material in a handy format to use beyond the course and into higher level and career courses, then even further into your working life as a refresher. With many diagrams in a small package, you will not need to crack the textbook to review. Suggested uses: o Students – especially relevant for those majoring in science or a health care related field o Quick Reference – instead of digging into the textbook to find a core answer you need while studying, use the guide to reinforce quickly and repeatedly o Memory – refreshing your memory repeatedly is a foundation of studying, have the core answers handy so you can focus on understanding the concepts o Test Prep – no student should be cramming, but if you are, there is no better tool for that final review.Publication date: 2016
ASM Images and Protocols
-
ASM Image LibraryThe Gallery is a collection of images, videos, and animations that can be used to enhance lecture or lab presentations.
-
ASM Laboratory ProtocolsLaboratory Protocols are information briefs about standard laboratory tests and include the procedural steps as well as the purpose, theory, history, safety considerations, tips and comments, and references.
-
ASM Curriculum ArchiveThe Curriculum Archive features 85 peer-reviewed activities promoting active learning in undergraduate microbiology.