Login to LibApps


ARS 494/598 Modern and Contemporary Chinese Art: ARS 475 Chinese Painting

Searching for Materials in the Library catalog

There are several ways to search the Library's catalog for materials; however you might want to use the Subject Headings  Art China or Art Chinese.

Article Databases and Journals

ASU Library subscribes to over 400 databases. On the Libraries' homepage under Articles you can search for articles, select a specific database or look up an e-Journal by title. Though there are many databases that might be useful I have selected several to get you started in your research.

Journals:

  • Orientations: the magazine for collectors and connoisseurs of Oriental art. Index and abstracts available online. Issues in Hayden Library (lower level) at DS 501 .O73
  • Arts of Asia available in Hayden Library (lower level) NX 572 .A75

Images and Videos

ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.

CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online) is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. 

Museums:

Also from the Freer/Sackler is the information on the Song and Yuan Dynasty Painting and Calligraphy.

Many of the resources above were found on the ArtPromote site. It worth taking a look at.

Project 798: new art in new China (62 minutes)/ Lucius C. Kuert; San Francisco, CA: Microcinema International, 2010 Hayden Lower Level N7345.6 .P76 2010 DVD  

Online Encyclopedias

Selected Titles

Total modernity and the avant-garde in twentieth-century Chinese art/ Gao Min and Gao Minglu, MIT Press, 2011 (eBook)

Art and politics in China, 1949-1984/ Maria Galikowski, The Chinese University Press, 1998; N 7345 .G35x 1998 West

Library One Search

Library One Search  

 Additional "Library One Search" Pages

For convenient access to major library resources consider installing the latest ASU Library Toolbar into your web browser. Our toolbar allows you to easily search Library One Search, the ASU Library Catalog, the content of our LibGuides, proxied Google Scholar and the open-access WorldCat catalog/database.

Writing about Art

Researching Art History from the University of North Carolina.

Writing about Art

How to Use RefWorks

 RefWorks is a licensed web-based bibliography and database manager, allows users to create their own personal citation/abstract database by importing citations from online databases, the ASU catalog, or text files. Click here for more information on RefWorks. 

ASU Library offers RefWorks sessions (Basic and Advanced). Click here for the schedule.

Hours and Locations