Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


ARS 494/598 Modern and Contemporary Chinese Art

Searching for Materials in the Library catalog

There are several ways to search the Library's catalog for materials; however you might want to use the Subject Headings  Art Japan or Art Japanese.

Article Databases and Journals

ASU Library subscribes to over 400 databases. On the Libraries' homepage under Articles you can search for articles, select a specific database or look up an e-Journal by title. Though there are many databases that might be useful I have selected several to get you started in your research.

Journals:

  • Orientations: the magazine for collectors and connoisseurs of Oriental art. Index and abstracts available online. Issues in Hayden Library (lower level) at DS 501 .O73
  • Arts of Asia available in Hyaden Library (lower level) NX 572 .A75

Images and Image Databases

Artelino is an online art auction site but it does have quite a few images and some biographies of the artists.

ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.

CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online) is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. 

Museums:

Photobucket current Japanese art images. It is a video and image hosting site so look with care.

Asia Society provides a virtual exhibition of 25 items from there collection.

Japan Society provides a vast of array of resources on Japan.

Many of the resources above were found on the ArtPromote site. It worth taking a look at.

Online Encyclopedias

Library One Search

Library One Search  

Additional "Library One Search" Pages

For convenient access to major library resources consider installing the latest ASU Library Toolbar into your web browser. Our toolbar allows you to easily search Library One Search, the ASU Library Catalog, the content of our LibGuides, proxied Google Scholar and the open-access WorldCat catalog/database.

Tutorials and Other Materials

ASU Library has a number of tutorials available. They are usually short (4 minutes or less) and focus on problems you may run into as you research and write your papers. They can be found on the Library's home page under Services for Students or at Tutorials. I selected a few that might be helpful:

If you are having problems citing or you aren't sure which style guide to use link to our Libgude in Citing Styles.

You may also wish to take a look at the Academic Integrity Libguide for a refresher on ASU policies in regards to plagiarism and other academic integrity issues.

How to Use RefWorks

 RefWorks is a licensed web-based bibliography and database manager, allows users to create their own personal citation/abstract database by importing citations from online databases, the ASU catalog, or text files. Click here for more information on RefWorks. 

ASU Library offers RefWorks sessions (Basic and Advanced). Click here for the schedule.

Citation Help

If you need help with citations try the Citation Styles guide.

Hours and Locations