Games and Gaming
Games as Subjects for Scholarship and Research
Video games and gaming has lead to an explosion of research and scholarship that cross disciplinary boundaries. You can find research on the psychology of video gaming, the art of video games, video games as literature (story and character, for example), the social aspects of gaming, the educational uses of games, the business of video games, the technology of video game creation, and many, many more examples.
Research and scholarship is disseminated through books and journal articles. Journal articles will let you track the most current work and trends in research and thought about gaming and video games. The resources below are some prime sources for finding current and past research.
ASU Library Online Databases
- Academic Search PremierASP covers all subjects! It is a great place to start for a wide variety of resources and perspectives.
- Design and Applied Arts IndexA prime source for research on video games as art. Includes a lot of relevant game related journals.
- ABI/INFORM CompleteA business and industry index with lots of information about video games and product development.
- Art Full TextVideo games as art. Using the keyword search "video game design" alone retrieves over 300 articles.
- Humanities Full TextNot as rich as the ones above, but a good place to start.
- Literature Online: ABELLLook for the "Criticism" box and search it alone. Hundreds of articles about video games in a literary context.
- MLA International BibliographyTHE index for the study of literature, the MLA also has hundreds of articles on video games.
- PsycINFOTHOUSANDS of articles about the psychology of video gaming.
- SocIndex with Full TextVideo games from a sociological perspective.
- Science DirectA wide range of articles, but best for more technical and computing coverage.
Academic Journals
- ACM Computers in Entertainment
- Digital Creativity
- Elsevier Entertainment Computing
- Homo Ludens
- Eludamos: Journal for Computer Game Culture
- Games and Culture: A Journal of Interactive Media
- G|A|M|E- The Italian Journal of Game Studies
- Game Studies: The International Journal of Computer Game Research
- Hindawi International Journal of Computer Games Technology
- Journal of Gaming and Virtual Worlds
- International Journal of Roleplaying
- Journal of Virtual Reality and Broadcasting
- Journal of Virtual Worlds Research
- Loading...
- Press Start
- SAGE Simulation and Gaming
- The Computer Games Journal
- ToDiGRA: Transactions of the Digital Games Research Association
- UUelcome Matte
Locating Articles
When an article you find in one of the databases is not available in full text, look for this icon: 
.
The "GetIt!" service will let you know if the article is available full text in another database in the ASU Library system. It can be tricky at times to navigate, so get help if you need.
Need more help?
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
