NTR 290 - Evidence Based Nutrition
Accessing Articles - GetIt@ASU
When searching a research database click Get It!@ASU for options to access full-text.
If we have access to an article look for View It and links to the article.
If we do not have immediate access to an article look for Get It and a link to request the article for free through Interlibrary Loan. Find out more about using Interlibrary Loan.
Differences between types of reviews
Differences between a systematic review and other types of reviews | from Cochrane Library
"A systematic review identifies an intervention for a specific disease or other problem in health care, and determines whether or not this intervention works. To do this authors locate, appraise and synthesize evidence from as many relevant scientific studies as possible. They summarize conclusions about effectiveness, and provide a unique collation of the known evidence on a given topic, so that others can easily review the primary studies for any intervention.
Systematic reviews differ from other types of review in that they adhere to a strict design in order to make them more comprehensive, thus minimizing the chance of bias, and ensuring their reliability. Rather than reflecting the views of the authors, or being based on a partial selection of the literature, (as is the case with many articles and reviews that are not explicitly systematic), they contain all known references to trials on a particular intervention and a comprehensive summary of the available evidence. The reviews are therefore also valuable sources of information for those receiving care, as well as for decision makers and researchers."
Top Health Research Databases
- PubmedPrimary database of information in the medical and health sciences fields. Includes articles from all areas of health, allied health, medicine, nursing, nutrition, and biomedical sciences.
- CINAHLPrimary database of nursing and allied health information.
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane library provides access to evidence based research including cochrane systematic reviews and clincial trials. It also provides information on the effects of interventions in health care and evidence to support health care decisions.
- PsycInfoFind articles and information related to the topic of psychology, behavioral health, and related fields.
Additional Databases
More Health Related Databases
- SPORTDiscusCovers all aspects of sport, physical fitness, sport science and recreation. Includes sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education, and other sport and fitness related topics.
- Sports Medicine & Education IndexSearch to retrieve journal citations on biomechanics, kinesiology, coaching, curriculum, dance, health, history, law, measurement-evaluation, motor learning, patients pertaining to sporting goods and exercise equipment, perception, philosophy, physical education, physical fitness, physical therapy, recreation, research, sports activities, sports psychology, sport sociology, sports, sports medicine, teaching methods, and training.
- ScopusScopus is a database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. Includes many articles in the Health Sciences & Hard Sciences.
General
- Academic Search PremierGeneral database that has articles and other types of information on a variety of topics.
- Google ScholarGeneral research database with articles and other types of information on a variety of topics.
Business & Education
- ABI/InformIt includes articles from thousands of English-language publications worldwide covering business, management, and related areas as well as case studies, annual reports, Experian company credit information, country reports, industry reports, commodity reports, conference papers, and dissertations.
- ERICPremier U.S. database of education literature including articles and reports in education.
- Education Full TextA fulltext database that covers topics such as teaching methods, literacy standards, adult and continuing education, classroom management, school administration and evaluation methods of both students and teachers
Legislation
- Proquest CongressionalAccess to federal legislative bills, statutes, committee hearings, committee reports, and voting history while also covering executive branch documents and executive orders.
- Proquest Legislative InsightDocuments the legislative history of laws enacted by the U.S. Congress with links to relevant documents including the enacted public laws and related bills; Congressional Record excerpts; and committee hearings, reports, and documents.
Statistics
- Proquest Statistical InsightIncludes indexes of statistical information produced by the state governments & selected private organizations
Ask a Librarian
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
