- Arizona State University
- LibGuides
- ASU Library @ Fan Fusion
- Saturday May 25 - Sci-Fi History
ASU Library @ Fan Fusion: Saturday May 25 - Sci-Fi History
Today's theme: Sci-fi History!
Trading cards - Today only!
Jeff Goldblum
The Fly (1986), The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai (1984), The Big Chill (1983) press kits
Images from assorted press kits, featuring Jeff Goldblum, that reside in Arizona State University’s extensive film publicity collections housed at ASU Library.
Call number: Distinctive Collections Movie Press Kit Collection, MSS-402, Fly (Box 64 Folder 7), Banzai (Box 84 folder 5), The Big Chill (Box 4 Folder 12)
Star Trek: The Motion Picture 1979 Press Kit
Part of the extensive Movie Press Kits Collection from 1962 to 2003. This collection features publicity photos, articles, interviews, production notes, and cast and crew lists.
Call number: Distinctive Collections Accession #2017-05123, Movie Oversize Publicity Collection, Box 2
Giveaways!
Want to see more?
Learn more about our collections, then tell us what you'd like to see in person below!
Today's theme: Sci-Fi History!
Visit us at Booth 1491 at the Lower Exhibit Hall
(SE corner next to Sebastien Millon and Dino Art Prints)
Check out ASU Library @ Fan Fusion every day!
Thursday May 23 - Preview Day // Friday May 24 - Star Wars // Saturday May 25 - Sci-Fi History // Sunday May 26 - Comics & Superheroes
Today's special guest
ASU Library Archivist Kathy Krzys!
Our Sci-Fi Special Collections
We have rare documents, ephemera, posters, books, figurines, and more from your favorite sci-fi authors:
- William Seward Burroughs Papers
- Paul Cook Papers (ASU science fiction author)
- Nicholas A. Salerno Star Wars Collection
- Movie Press Kit Collection
- Douglas McGrath Movie Poster Collection
- H. G. Wells Book Collection
- Alice in Wonderland Collection
Alan Dean Foster
Alan Dean Foster is best known for his Star Wars, Alien, and Star Trek novelizations, as well as his original science fiction novels set in the Humanx Commonwealth.
Interview
Listen to ASU Library's 2012 interview between author Alan Dean Foster and ASU assistant professor, Edward Finn, about Alan's career in Science Fiction, film novelizations, his world travels, and much more.
Alan Dean Foster Papers
This collection contains manuscripts, drafts, typescripts, galley proofs, audio cassette tapes, correspondence with agents and editors, fan mail, and newspaper clippings documenting Alan Dean Foster's career as a science fiction and fantasy writer.
Learn more about the Alan Dean Foster Papers at ASU Library.
Alan Dean Foster book collection
Check out our multilingual Alan Dean Foster collection of over 90 books:
- הנוסע השמיני / ha-Noseʻa ha-shemini - Alien (Hebrew)
- La Crema de la ciencia ficción - Top Science Fiction (Spanish)
- スタ－マン / Sutāman - Starman (Japanese)
-
Flinx in Flux
by
When Flinx, no stranger to galactic intrigue, found an unconscious woman on a riverbank deep in the jungles of Alaspin, he took it in stride. When he learned that the woman, Clarity Held, was a brilliant scientist abducted from a remote outpost on inhospitable Longtunnel by a group of fanatic assassins, he tried to help the beautiful Clarity back to her project. Unfortunately, the assassins were still at work. They would do anything to stop the research on Longtunnel and would kill anyone or anything that got in their way.... THE ADVENTURES OF FLINX OF THE COMMONWEALTH: FOR LOVE OF MOTHER-NOT THE TAR-AIYM KRANG ORPHAN STAR THE END OF THE MATTER BLOODHYPE FLINX IN FLUX
Publication date: 1988
