American Masculinities: A Historical Encyclopedia explores the wide range of identities and experiences that have defined men and masculinity in the United States from pre-Columbian times to the present. The first reference work devoted to this scholarly field, it draws on important contemporary research in history, gender and sexuality studies, and cultural and literary studies. The encyclopedia--in more than 250 articles--analyzes American manhood through historical eras and events; sexuality and the body; cultural icons and symbols; attitudes and behaviors; work and leisure; institutions and organizations; controversial issues and movements; key figures; family and the life cycle; literature, film, theater, and art; theories and concepts; and identities based on race, ethnicity, class, age, and region. Each entry includes suggestions for further reading and a list of other articles with additional information on a topic.
--A completely updated one-volume edition of the 4-volume International Encyclopedia of Sexuality--Includes nearly 60 countries and places--12 not previously covered--by more than 200 authorities--It is the only reference work of its kind in any language Now in a thoroughly updated one-volume edition, The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality is the foremost reference work on sexual behavior throughout the world at the beginning of a new millennium. Written by more than 200 leading sexologists in their respective countries and cultures, each lengthy entry explores such areas as heterosexual relationships, children, adolescents, adults, gender-conflicted persons, unconventional sexual patterns, contraception, sexually transmitted diseases, AIDS, sexual dysfunctions, and therapies. It also includes sexual issues for older persons and physically and mentally challenged individuals.Places to be included for the first time are: Cuba, Denmark, Estonia, France, Hong Kong, Nepal, Norway, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, and Tanzania.
Based on the work of seventy researchers in fifteen countries, The Dictionary of Homophobia is a mammoth, encyclopedic book that documents the history of homosexuality, and various cultural responses to it, in all regions of the world: a masterful, engaged, and wholly relevant study that traces the political and social emancipation of a culture. The book is the first English translation of Dictionnaire de L'Homophobie, published in France in 2003 to world-wide acclaim. The Dictionary includes over 175 essays on various aspects of gay rights and homophobia as experienced in all regions in Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, and the South Pacific, from the earliest epochs to present day. Subjects include religious and ideological forces such as the Bible, Communism, Judaism, Hinduism, and Islam; historical events such as AIDS and Stonewall, personalities such as J. Edgar Hoover, Matthew Shepard, Oscar Wilde, Pat Buchanan, Joseph McCarthy, Pope John Paul II, and Anita Bryant; and other topics such as coming out, adoption, deportation, ex-gays, lesbiphobia, and bi-phobia. In a country where gay marriage, while legalized, remains a hot-button political issue, and in a world where adults and even teens are still being executed by authorities for the "crime" of homosexuality, The Dictionary of Homophobia is a both a revealing and necessary history lesson for us all.
Beginning in 1869, when the study of homosexuality can be said to have begun with the establishment of sexology, this 2 volume Encyclopedia offers accounts of the most important international developments in an area that now occupies a critical place in many fields of academic endeavours. It covers a long history and a dynamic and ever changing present, while opening up the academic profession to new scholarship and new ways of thinking. While gays and lesbians have shared many aspects of life, their histories and cultures developed in profoundly different ways. To reflect this crucial fact, the Encyclopedia has been prepared in two separate volumes assuring that both histories receive full, unbiased attention and that a broad range of human experience is covered. Intended as a reference for students and scholars in all fields, as well as the general public, the encyclopedia is written in user-friendly language. At the same time it maintains a high level of scholarship that incorporates both passion and objectivity. It is written by some of the most famous names in the field, as well as new scholars, whose research continues to advance gender studies into the future.
An encyclopedia of the Renaissance with articles on various aspects of social, cultural, and political history such as literature, government, warfare, and technology, plus maps, charts, definitions, and chronology.
The cliche is that prostitution is the oldest profession. Isn't it time that the subject received a full reference treatment? This major 2-volume set is the first to treat in an inclusive reference what is usually considered a societal failing and the underside of sexuality and economic survival. The A-to-Z encyclopedia offers wide-ranging entries related to prostitution and the sex industry, past and present, both worldwide (mostly in the West) and in the United States. The topic of prostitution has high-interest appeal across disciplines, and the narrative entries illuminate literature, art, law, medicine, economics, politics, women's studies, religion, sociology, sexuality, film, popular culture, public health, nonfiction, American and world history, business, gender, media, education, crime, race, technology, performing arts, family, social work, social mores, pornography, the military, tourism, child labor, and more. It is targeted to the general reader, who will gain useful insight into the human race through time via its sex industry and prostitution. An introduction overviews the scope of prostitution from the earliest historical records, including the Bible. User-friendly lists that are alphabetically and topically arranged help the reader find entries of interest, as does the comprehensive index. A chronology proffers significant dates related to the topic. Each entry is signed and has suggestions for further reading. Sample entries: Abolition; Actresses; Augustine, Saint; Barr, Candy; Bible; Camp Followers; Chamberlain-Kahn Bill of 1918; Child Prostitution; Clothing, Contagious Diseases Acts of 1864, 1866, and 1869; Crime; Debby Doesn't Do It for Free; Dickens, Charles; Devadasi; Entrapment; Fallen Woman Trope; Feminism; Films, Cult; Five Points; Free Love; Geisha; Globalization; Guidebooks; Hip-Hop; HIV/AIDS and the Prostitution Rights Movement; Human Rights; Incest; Internet; Jack the Ripper; Kama Sutra; League of Nations; Lulu; Male Stripping; Mann Act; Mayhew, Henry; Memoirs; Migration and Mobility; Nazi Germany; Poetry; Purity Movements; R&R; Religion; Salvation Army; Scapegoating; Slang; Storyville; Temporary Marriage; Unions; Venice; Window Prostitution.
An A-Z reference source on the theme of same-sex desire, gender variance and the sacred, this book examines the often-suppressed spiritual dimension of homosexuality. Its coverage includes archetypal figures such as deities, spirits and the characters of fairy tales; sacred texts including religious narratives; myths and legends; symbols and metaphors; persons and groups embodying the domain, such as Native American Indian berdaches; and works of art, including those of painting, sculpture, music, dance, drama and film.
The central aim of this encyclopedia is to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality. The encyclopedia is divided into two volumes: Topics and Cultures. The combination of topical overviews and varying cultural portraits is what makes this encyclopedia a unique reference work for students, researchers and teachers interested in gender studies and cross-cultural variation in sex and gender. It deserves a place in the library of every university and every social science and health department. Contents:- Glossary. Cultural Conceptions of Gender. Gender Roles, Status, and Institutions. Sexuality and Male-Female Interaction. Sex and Gender in the World's Cultures. Culture Name Index. Subject Index.
A unique collaboration of over 900 scholars from around the world, the Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines to create a ground-breaking reference work reflecting the very latest research on gender studies and the Islamic world. No other reference work offers this scale of contributions or depth and breadth of coverage. Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures is set to become an essential reference work for students and researchers in the fields of gender studies, Middle Eastern and Islamic studies, as well as scholars of religion, history, politics, anthropology, geography and related disciplines.This encyclopedia consists of six volumes (including an Index volume), published from 2003 to 2007.To download a preview, click here"
Polari has been the secret language of gay men and women through the twentieth century. But more than a language, Polari is an attitude. From the prisons and music halls of Edwardian England to American Gis, to the Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence, Polari has been used to laugh, bitch, gossip and cruise. Like all slang, Polari users coined an ever-changing vocabulary. Derived from words used by criminals, circus artists, beggars and prostitutes, it also employed Italian, Yiddish, French, rhyming slang and backslang. Since gay liberation, lesbian and gay slang has become less a language of concealment than a language of specialisation, though the tradition of camp remains. A carefully researched and entertaining read, Fantabulosa presents a lexicon of Polari and a more general dictionary of lesbian and gay slang. If you don't yet know what vada the bona cartes on the ommee ajax, parkering ninty, a Mexican nightmare or a nellyectomy mean, then this is the book for you.
A concise alphabetical guide to the key terms, issues, theoretical approaches, projects and thinkers in feminist philosophy. Feminist Philosophies A-Z covers contemporary material in a number of feminist approaches. It illustrates the complexity, range and interconnectedness of issues infeminist philosophy while making clear the relationship of feminist philosophy to the rest of philosophy as a discipline (epistemology, metaphysics, ethics, social philosophy and metaphysics). Entries are pithy, detailed, informative and are cross-referenced to guide the reader through the livelydebates in feminism. This volume is an indispensable resource for philosophers, students, and Women's Studies faculties as well as anyone with an interest in feminist philosophy."
Despite its relative youth, the gay liberation movement is one of the most vigorous and quickly growing of the contemporary social movements. The efforts of a handful of individuals put in motion a movement which now involves millions of people, and spans the globe. The agenda of the movement, like its membership, has grown tremendously, with new causes, organizations, and strategies for reaching goals constantly being adopted. The Historical Dictionary of the Gay Liberation Movement traces the evolution from the early homosexual rights movement through a century of history and into the contemporary gay and lesbian rights movement. It defines the key organizations and presents their leaders, the essential issues and the strategies those issues suggest, and the situation in numerous countries. Entries for numerous countries provide a global perspective. Most of the information is provided through extensive entries in the dictionary which are supplemented and put into context by the introduction and chronology. A comprehensive bibliography aids the researcher in further study. This volume focuses on the impact of gay and bisexual men (and their allies) on the gay liberation movement. A subsequent volume will trace the role of lesbians in the movement.
The Lesbian Liberation Movement (LLM) is both a movement that encompasses liberating a sexual practice from stigmatization, and a political movement challenging the dual oppression of women by the patriarchy's assumption of male supremacy and heterosexuality. Over the years, much has been written on homosexuality, and the Gay Liberation Movement (GLM), yet much of the focus has been on male homosexuals, especially male homosexual activity and the politics that that activity raises. The Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian Liberation Movement: Still the Rage is a comprehensive overview and resource guide for one of the most invisible social political movements: the Lesbian Liberation Movement. This book helps to make the still-active movement visible--the history, successes, setbacks, controversies, and issues. This book is a good secondary resource for those studying this social political movement, containing a chronology, contextual overview, dictionary entries that cover persons, laws, terminology, issues, and countries, and an extensive bibliography of primary resources and current work. A reference work, this book should be in all libraries and used by researchers studying the Lesbian Liberation Movement.
The Internationalnbsp;Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinities offers a comprehensive guide to the current state of scholarship about men, masculinities, and gender around the world. The Encyclopedia's coverage is comprehensive across three dimensions: areas of personal and social life, academic disciplines, and cultural and historical contexts and formations. The Encyclopedia: examines every area of men's personal and social lives as shaped by gender covers masculinity politics, the men's groups and movements that have tried to change men's roles presents entries on working with particular groups of boys or men, from male patients to men in prison incorporates cross-disciplinary perspectives on and examinations of men, gender and gender relations gives comprehensive coverage of diverse cultural and historical formations of masculinity and the bodies of scholarship that have documented them. The Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinities is composed of over 350 free-standing entries written from their individual perspectives by eminent scholars in their fields. Entries are organized alphabetically for general ease of access but also listed thematically at the front of the encyclopedia, for the convenience of readers with specific areas of interest.
Aiming to fill the need for current and historical information on international aspects of gay and lesbian life, and based on the advice of an advisory board, this almanac provides information on people, places, events, terms, topics in 23 chapters.
Sexuality has captured our imagination since antiquity. Its passion and mysteries have inspired numerous creative works and posed many ethical, legal, and social challenges. Because sex is so central to our personal lives and society, various thinkers have pondered its philosophical dimensions.This reference book, the first of its kind, offers comprehensive coverage of sexual philosophy. Unlike other works, which explore the biology of sex, this encyclopedia locates sexuality in its broader intellectual and social contexts. Alan Soble, one of the world's foremost authorities on the philosophy of sex, has consulted an advisory board of distinguished specialists. Through more than 150 alphabetically arranged entries, the encyclopedia chronicles how people have thought about sexuality across time and cultures. The entries, written by more than 100 expert contributors who cite current scholarship, provide insightful discussions of thinkers, topics, movements, religions, and concepts.
Featuring more than 200 entries written by an international roster of experts, this work is the most authoritative and accessible source available for educators, researchers, and students seeking an understanding of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) youth. This ground-breaking work examines policy, practice, and research concerning youth who are often the victims of bullying and harassment. Entries cover a panoply of concerns, including: suicide; counseling; gay-straight alliances; popular culture, e.g., MTV, South Park; racism; prostitution; HIV education; pregnancy; fraternities; and gender roles. In addition to covering these topics within the United States, the volume includes coverage of of LGBT youth and education in the United Kingdom, Asia, Australia, South America, and Europe. Featuring more than 200 entries written by an international roster of experts, this work is the most authoritative and accessible source available for educators, researchers and students seeking an understanding of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) youth. This ground-breaking work examines policy, practice and research concerning youth who are often the victims of bullying and harrassment. Interdisciplinary, engaging articles examine the policy, practice, and research concerning the role, responses, and responsibilities of schools, educators, and the larger community to LGBT youth. Ranging from the the school curriculum to popular culture, topics include: gender roles, AIDS and HIV education, teen pregnancy, rural youth, prostitution, mental health, race and racism, counseling, gender roles, identity development, discrimination, anti-bias curriculum, children of LGBT parents, film, homophobia, legal issues, various ethnic groups, prejudice, religion, stereotypes, social class, college youth, and youth culture. There is international coverage as well of the United Kingdom, Asia, Australia, South America, and Europe. Research and scholarship on sexualities, youth, and education has exploded, especially in North America, Australia, and Europe. Over the past 25 years, remarkable progress has been made politically, culturally, and educationally with respect to LGBT and Queer concerns. For example, hundreds of gay-straight alliances operate in high schools and colleges; court settlements have resulted in greater administrative sensitivity to harassment of gay students; and the number of college courses including gay concerns and issues is growing. While there are increasing numbers of articles and books covering LGBT issues and life, this work is the first comprehensive source to look at the important nexus of education and LGBT youth.