Coverage: 1827 + Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, includingThe Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text (IIBP), Black Literature Index, and Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Black Newspapers Collection (including the Chicago Defender).
Alternate titles: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience
Coverage: 1910 + Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Reprints on a quarterly basis, the table of contents pages of over 150 magazines and journals, from academic journals such as Signs and Feminist Studies to special interest periodicals on women of color, art, law, health care, lesbian issues, and women around the world.
Coverage: 1849 - 1913 Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
The Woman's Suffrage Collection, 1849 - 1913, consists of six newspapers for women including, the Lily, 1849 - 1856, which was the first U.S. newspaper for women. Other women's newspapers in the collection include The Revolution, 1868 - 1872; National Citizen and Ballot Box, 1878- 1881; The Remonstrance, 1890 - 1913; The New Citizen, 1909 - 1912; and the Western Women Voter, 1911 - 1913. With only a gap of twelve years, this important collection essentially covers the length and the breath of the Woman's Suffrage movement in the United States.
Coverage: 1849-1856 Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
The first newspaper for women in the United States, was issued from 1849 until 1853 under the editorship of Amelia Bloomer (1818-1894). It's local and national focus was both temperance and women’s rights.
Alternate titles: Lily, The Lily: A Temperance and Feminist Newspape