Chemistry & Biochemistry

This is a guide for library resources in Chemistry & Biochemistry.

Find articles in Chemistry and Biochemistry

Below you will find a list of databases with varying depths of coverage of chemistry and biochemistry. ASURITE UserID and password may be required for off campus access. Use these Research Databases to find journal articles, conference proceedings and more.

Best bets:

SciFinder-n

Discovery platform for chemical and scientific research featuring structure and keyword search, reactions, literature, biosequences, synthesis tools, and substance data from reliable sources including patents.

First-time Users: Free Registration Required for ASU Authorized Users. For those already registered, click on the database link above.
Caution: Exit and close your browser after exiting SciFinder-n. Failure to do so may allow others to access the database using your browser session, and you may be held liable for any violations that may occur.
Operating System and Browser recommendations.
Reaxys

Chemistry research database that offers access to chemical reactions, substance data, and scientific literature, integrating information from journals, patents, and trusted sources for efficient analysis.
Access provided by Knowledge Enterprise.
HOW DO I GET AN ACCOUNT?
There is currently no limit to the amount of ASU faculty, staff & students that can register for access. To create an account, follow the instructions below:
1. From campus, Visit https://www.reaxys.com/#/login
2. When working off campus, Visit https://ezproxy1.lib.asu.edu/login?url=https://www.reaxys.com
3. Click Register
  PLEASE NOTE: Access is based on an IP address range for ASU. If you are off campus, you will be required to use the ezproxy address shown above to register for your account and when signing in after registration.
  - Currently, Single Sign-On is not enabled to create accounts with Reaxys. It is important that you DO NOT Sign in by clicking (Sign in via your institution).
  - Doing so will sign you in, but will not create an account for you and won’t allow you to save searches or receive alerts from the system.
4. Complete the registration form using your ASU email address formatted as follows: asuriteID@asu.edu
HOW TO GET HELP?
For issues registering for an account or sign-on issues, contact the RTS HelpDesk: rtshelp@asu.edu
For help using the system or issues within Reaxys, click the question mark icon in the upper right corner of the page. This will give you some helpful FAQ’s and provide an email and phone to reach Reaxys for assistance.

Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. Scopus provides access to a broad portfolio of leading peer-reviewed content from around the world.
PubMed
Biochemistry and Chemistry related to the Life Sciences.

American Chemical Society Publications

Peer-reviewed journals and eBooks covering all fields of chemistry and related sciences, offering cutting-edge research articles, reviews, and editorials to support scientific discovery and education

Coverage: American Chemical Society (ACS) journals (vol 1 to the present) and the ACS Symposium book series (2010 to the present).

Additional databases:

Academic Search Ultimate
General Science database.

Engineering Village
Includes journal articles and conference papers related to Geochemistry, Biotechnology, Chemical Engineering, Materials Science and Nanotechnology

SciTech Connect
Energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from Department of Energy.

GeoScienceWorld
GeoScienceWorld is a nonprofit collaborative and comprehensive resource for research and communications in the earth sciences. Searchable full text is integrated with GeoRef, a comprehensive indexing and abstracting database for information from geosciences journals, conference, dissertation and other resources. Coverage for GSW journals is mostly 2000 to present, with records from GeoRef covering geosciences literature from the late 1700's to present. Advanced search capabilities, including geographic searching by latitude and longitude, variety of options for limiting results sets, and other features are available.
Nucleic Acids Abstracts
Coverage: 1982+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Detailed perspectives on innovative cloning and sequencing strategies are available in this database.

Alternate titles: Biological Sciences

Encylopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks, Books and Tools

CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool
The CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool is an online resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information. This complimentary resource can be used to quickly and easily look up or confirm publication titles and abbreviations, as well as CODEN, ISBN, or ISSN codes. The CASSI database contains a listing of publications indexed by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) since 1907.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Contains tables and reference sections on all aspects of chemistry and physics. Includes all the figures, data, and tables found in the print version.

more... less...

Includes: full text and tables
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Looking for background information? Here's a great place to start. Don't forget to take a look at the reference section for more information.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Provides in-depth articles about the chemical industry. Covers all aspects of applied chemistry including both chemicals/materials and related topics.

more... less...

Includes: articles about applied chemistry
Knovel: Science and Engineering Handbooks and Databases
A collection of some of the leading engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings.

more... less...

Includes: scientific and engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings
Royal Society of Chemistry
Chemical science books published by the Royal Society of Chemistry.