Login to LibApps


Citation Research and Impact Metrics: h-index for authors

Index

Introduction to:
Article Assessments
Author Assessments
Country Assessments
Journal Rankings

Metrics:
Altmetric Score

Citation Benchmarking
Citation Counts for: 
---Articles
---Authors
---Countries
Citation Distribution, see Citation Benchmarking
CiteScore 
Collaboration

Eigenfactor Score, see Other Journal Rankings
ERIH Plus, see Other Journal Rankings

Field-weighted citation impact (FWCI), see Citation Benchmarking
FWCI, see Citation Benchmarking

Google Scholar (Journal) Metrics, see Other Journal Rankings

Harzing, see Other Journal Rankings
Hirsch-index
h-index

iCite for:
---Articles, see Citation Benchmarking
---Authors

JIF
Journal Impact Factor

NIH ranking, see iCite

Publish or Perish software, see Citation Counts for Authors: Other Sources

RCR, see iCite
Relative Citation Ratio, see iCite

Scimago Country Rank (SCR)
Scimago Journal Rank, see CiteScore 
SJR, see CiteScore
SNIP, see CiteScore​
​Source Normalized Impact per Paper, see CiteScore

Usage Counts

What You Need to Know

The h-index measures an individual's citation count over time. When looking at the total article output for an individual, the h-index is the number of articles that have at least that number of times. So if an individual has an h-index of 9, that means they have 9 articles that have been cited 9 or more times.  The higher the number, the better.  

Originally, proponents of the h-index claimed it was a better way to compare individuals' output when those individuals were at different career points.  However, the h-index also appears to favor those with longer careers and therefore, more publications, just as the total citation count does.   Take into consideration the number of publications and career length when comparing individuals' h-indexes.  

Instructions

Data contained in Experts.ASU is derived from Elsevier's Scopus database.  As the name implies, only data for ASU faculty is available; for authors not in Experts.ASU, use the Scopus database to obtain an h-index.  Because the data comes from the same source, you may compare h-indexes  from Experts.ASU with h-indexes from Scopus (provided the authors are in the same field and at the same career level.)

  1. Go to Experts.ASU
  2. In the center of the screen change the search field from "Everything" to "Profiles" and in the search box put the ASU faculty member's name. 


     
  3. On the results page, you should see only the entry for that person.  Click on the person's name in the entry's box. 



     
  4. On the person's profile screen, the citation count is listed on the right side. 

The Scopus database covers some conference proceedings and books/book chapters in addition to journal articles and all document types are covered in the h-index calculation.   Originally Scopus only contained article data from 1996 to the present, however they are now updating pre-1996 cited references going back to 1970 so authors with articles published from 1970-1995 may see their h-index increase over time. 

  • Using an author search, find all the publications in the database for an individual. 

    Recommended search strategy:
    lastname firstinitial   as  author
    AND arizona state university  as   affiliation name


     
  • Select all articles in the set and then click on "View Citation Overview" 




     
  • On the citation overview, the h-index is located near the top left of the screen, underneath the gray bar.  



     

The h-index derived from the Web of Science database is calculated only from journal articles and does not count citations from conference papers, books or book chapters. 

  • Using an author search, find all the publications in the database for an individual. 

    Recommended search strategy:
    lastname firstinitial*   as  author
    AND arizona state university  as   organization-enhanced

  • At the upper corner of the results list, click on "Create Citation Report"


     
  • On the citation report, the h-index is located on the right-hand side of the screen

Loading ...

Hours and Locations