Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civic Classics Collection

A special collection that supports ASU's mission of civic education

Background

Arizona State University Library and the School of Civic and Economic Thought and Leadership (SCETL) partnered to create a special collection including books, maps, and historical newspapers called the Civic Classics Collection (CCC). This collection documents some of the essential ideas, leaders, and debates of American history with particular focus on politics and economics.

The Civic Classics Collection is a sub-collection within the Rare Books and Manuscripts Collection, one of the Featured Collections in Distinctive Collections at ASU. All materials are non-circulating, but are available to be viewed by appointment in the Wurzburger Reading Room. The Reading Room is free and open to everyone, including ASU affiliates as well as the general public. For more information, please contact Ask an Archivist.

ASU Library and Distinctive Collections

The Civic Classics Collection is part of ASU's Distinctive Collections in Hayden Library. Distinctive Collections houses ASU's rare books, manuscripts, and other specialized materials such as maps, prints, posters, photographs, and realia. Collections document the material record in a global context from approximately 2200 BCE to present. Emphasis falls on art, design, the performing arts, international studies, and other multidisciplinary topics. Featured collections include the Chicano/a Research Collection, Child Drama Collection, Design and Arts Special Collections, Greater Arizona Collection, Latin Americana Collection, and Rare Books and Manuscripts. There are also developing collections including the Israeli pulp fiction collection (IsraPulp). To ensure the preservation of and access to these materials to researchers and the community, the collections do not circulate. Items may be requested to be viewed in the new Wurzburger reading room located on the main level of Hayden Library.

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.