General magazine and newspaper articles often have quite a bit of non-scholarly news and reporting of social responsibility, ecology, and sustainability issues. These are some of the best sources for more general articles:
- Academic Search Premier
One of the most popular databases for most topics. This includes articles from the major magazines, trade publications, and academic journals for most subject areas, This includes links to full text articles.
"GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource contains backfiles for Bioscience, Journal of Environmental Planning & Management, Journal of Ecology, and Conservation Biology. The database also contains bibliographic information for key non-scholarly titles such as: E -The Environmental Magazine, Natural Life, and Mother Earth News. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet."
- Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (print copy, 1900-2003)
Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
This is the article index to use for information and news on cities. The Retrospective version is for those articles that were published in earlier years. Particularly useful for historical information on a city.
- News & Newspapers online
ASU Library subscribes to so many newspapers article indexes that this list is the best way to see what we have. Pay attention to the dates available. Some newspapers are historical, some are only more recent. To see what we have for a specific newspaper online, go to Journal Title Lookup and type in the name of the newspaper. For newspapers that do not show up in the list, or if you want to go directly to a newspaper's web site, try Newslink.org.
To find the newspapers that ASU Library has on Microfilm, use the ASU Library online catalog to search the name of the newspaper and the city or town name as a KEYWORD search. A list of Arizona newspapers, current & historical, is kept by the Arizona State Library, Archives & Public Records. For a list of places with historical newspapers on microfilm from the 50 states, Puerto Rico, & the US Virgin Islands, the NEH & Library of Congress maintain the US Newspaper Program. This newspaper microfilming program is no longer being updated. Instead, the NEH & the Library of Congress have a joint project to digitize America's historical newspapers. To search this collection, go to Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers, 1836-1922. For a complete list of newspapers published go to US Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present.
A special note on newspaper articles: If you can't find an article full text online, even though the full text is there for other articles in that issue, this may be a free lance article for which copyright permission was NOT given. In that case, the microfilm from that time period may be our only source for the article. In the NY Times and other ProQuest Historical Newspapers, if I enlarge (or use a magnifier) the entire page (pageview), I can sometimes read the article that is not available. The Pageview is also an excellent way to see the advertisements published in the newspapers. Useful for those ads published post- environmental disaster.
- Business News
For articles with a business slant. Of those in this list, I recommend Business Insights: Global, if you want to search by company. To search by "sustainability," "ecology", "green," or "social responsibility," I prefer ABI/Inform. Notice the subheader for the major business newspapers we have full text online.
updated 20171006 JMA