Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Design Resources

Key resources to support design research at Arizona State University

Related Databases

Selected Databases

Design & Applied Arts Index
Indexes design and craft journals. Covers all aspects of design, including architecture, interior design, environmental design, graphic design, advertising, theater design, industrial design, design and craft education, and design management. The index offers the options (when applicable) of limiting search results by publication types, such as peer-reviewed journals, book reviews, etc. Some full-text articles are available.

Provides coverage to such Design-related journals as:

  • Design Issues
  • Design Management
  • Design Studies
  • Design Week

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The Avery Index constitutes the preeminent architecture index covering a broad and international array of architectural publications, including: journals, popular periodicals, professional association publications and major serials on architecture and design.

Other areas of coverage include: Interior Design, Interior Decoration,  Landscape Architecture, Urban and City Planning, Archeology, and Historic Preservation. 

The Avery Index includes indexing coverage of such journals and publications as: 

  • Environment and Planning B, Planning and Design
  • Harvard Design Magazine
  • Interior Design 
  • Journal of Interior Design
  • Metropolis

Material ConneXion
Comprehensive online database of thousands of material types. Provides a global, cross-industry perspective on materials, sustainable alternatives, and their potential uses. Search by material type, material name, manufacturer name, and country of origin.

JSTOR
This database provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences.
Relevant subject areas listed under "Browse by Disciplines" include:

Science Direct
ScienceDirect offers the world's scientific, medical and technical information online. It includes over 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Includes indexing and (largely) full-text access to such relevant design-related journal publications as:

Web Resources

Architecture and Interior Design for 20th Century America  (Library of Congress) 
The Gottscho-Schleisner Collection is comprised of over 29,000 images primarily of architectural subjects, including interiors and exteriors of homes, stores, offices, factories, historic buildings, and other structures.

Art, Design and Visual Thinking: An Interactive Textbook  (Cornell University)
Online, interactive textbook designed to support an entry level course taken by majors and non-majors, introducing basic design concepts and the idea of visual language.

The Bauhaus-Archive Museum of Design
Photographs, books, designs, models.  artistic works, and other document  related to the Bauhaus activities. Visit The Bauhaus Collection. 

Core 77: Industrial Design Supersite
News, articles, links and directory of firms.

Design InSite
Designers' guide to manufacturing.

Doodles, Drafts, and Designs (Smithsonian)
Industrial drawings from collections of the National Museum of American History and the Smithsonian Institution Libraries.

Getty Research Institute: Architecture and Design
The architecture and design collections include a vast array of materials related to the fields of architecture and the design of exhibitions, interiors, graphics, textiles, and industrial materials.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History  (Met Collection) 
This is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection. 

Industrial Designers Society of America (IDSA)
The world’s oldest and largest, member-driven society for industrial design. IDSA represents professionals in product design, interaction design, human factors, ergonomics, design research, design management, and related design fields.

Industrial Design History
Developed by Bret Smith, IDSA, Chair of the Design History Section at Auburn University, this website celebrates the industrial design profession. Here you will find stories about the people who design products and systems for production, utility, comfort and beauty.

Le Souk
Materials index for fashion and interior design.

Modernism
Examples of decorative art and design objects.

National Gallery of Art: Index of American Design
Consists of approximately 18,000 watercolor renderings of American decorative arts objects from the colonial period through the nineteenth century.

Photographic Libraries
Links to photography, media, graphics, clip-art and more.

Ravensgard Costuming and Textiles Page
Medieval and Renaissance research, textile weaving and dyes, accessories, jewelry, and supplies.

Smarthistory  (Khan Academy) 
An interactive art history website with lectures, video, and images. Lectures and videos vary in content and quality. 

Victoria and Albert Museum 
This museum of art and design provides access to information on current and past exhibitions, collections, images, videos, and more. 

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.