Design Resources

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
This encyclopedia surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society; it is a comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts--from painting and sculpture to architecture, design, literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture.

Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts
Contains over 3,000 entries covering thousands of years of decorative arts production throughout western and non-western cultures.

Knovel
A collection of reference handbooks, databases and conference proceedings in technical fields. Permits searching across and within titles.
Selected full-text titles of potential relevance include:​

• Encyclopedia of Materials – Science and Technology (vols. 1-11)
• Indoor Air Quality Guide
• Materials and Design (2^nd ed.)
• Materials Selection in Mechanical Design (3^rd ed.)
• Sustainable Textiles – Life Cycle and Environmental Impact

Oxford Art Online
Provides scholarly encyclopedic and dictionary entries, images, and extensive bibliographies citing scholarly articles and books. Includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Sweets Network
This online product constitutes a comprehensive resource for building product information -- enabling research into building materials and manufacturers in a library of product catalogs.

Encyclopedia of materials : science and technology
10 v.
Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, 2001

Encyclopedia of smart materials
New York : J. Wiley, c2002. 

Handbook of research on trends in product design and development : technological and organizational perspectives
Hershey, PA : Business Science Reference, 2011.

The handbook of human-machine interaction: a human-centered design approach
Surrey, UK ; Burlington, VT : Ashgate, 2010. 

Handbook of material culture
London ; Thousand Oaks, CA : SAGE, 2006. 

Universal design handbook
2^nd ed. 
New York : McGraw-Hill, c2011. 

The wayfinding handbook : information design for public places
New York : Princeton Architectural Press, c2009.