Education
Education Librarian
Tim Feller
timothy.feller@asu.edu
ERIC (via Proquest)
(1966+) Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present. If you have never searched the ERIC database or want to review how to search, view this tutorial which walks you through the basics of searching and limiting search results in the ERIC database.
Education Full Text
(1983+) Covers education topics such as critical thinking, teaching methods, curriculum, comparative education, literacy standards, multicultural education, psychology, special education, counseling, teacher/parent relations, vocational education, etc.
LearnTechLib
Valuable resource of peer-reviewed and published international journal articles and conference papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
(1973+) Indexes literature on the nature & use of language. Covers linguistics (nature & structure of human speech); language (speech sounds, sentence & word structure, meaning, spelling, phonetics); and speech, language, & hearing pathology.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
PsycINFO
(1887+ ) A comprehensive index of psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Indexes more than 2,150 journals (98% are peer-reviewed) as well as relevant books and dissertations.
Scopus
Multidisciplinary database with citations and abstracts from peer-reviewed journal literature, trade journals, books, conference publications, and other documents. It provides tools tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
Sports Medicine & Education Index
Includes materials from peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, trade magazines, and other sources. Covers sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, health education, physical therapy, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology.
Multidisciplinary Databases
JSTOR
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences.
ProQuest
Provides access to a collection of databases. The ability to search across multiple databases is particularly useful for researching multi-disciplinary topics.
EBSCOhost
Provides access to ALL Ebscohost databases that ASU Library subscribes to.
Sage Premier
Includes the full text of peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE and participating societies.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
Covers a wide range of academic subjects & includes magazines and newspapers as well as scholarly peer-reviewed journals.
Access World News
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
FMG on Demand
A comprehensive collection of nearly 5000 high-quality educational videos available for video streaming to the computer desktop. Titles cover a wide range of topics organized into 20 subject folders. Individual Learning Objects for each title subdivide the videos into smaller segments.
Advanced Research Databases
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities: Education
Identifies academic journal publishing opportunities in the fields of Educational Curriculum and Methods, Educational Psychology and Administration, and Educational Technology and Library Science. Includes the impact factor, acceptance rate, scope, submission process information, and contacts for each journal covered.
Dissertations and Theses Arizona State University
A searchable database for full-text (1979+ ) and citations to ASU students' doctoral dissertations (1954-1979) and masters theses.
Dissertations and Theses (1861+ )
Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and selected masters' theses accepted for degrees by accredited North American educational institutions and over 200 other institutions. Covers approximately 3,000 subject areas.
Sage Research Methods
A web-based research methods tool to help researchers, faculty and students with research projects. Researchers can explore methods to help them construct research projects and understand various methods. This database focuses on methodology and is useful for all disciplines.
Ulrich's Periodical Directory
Provides title-specific information for currently published journals, magazines and newspapers. Each title's record includes a list of databases known to index it and publisher's contact information. Also indicates whether a journal is peer reviewed (refereed).
WorldCat
Indexes books, dissertations, government documents, multimedia and various other materials. This index will tell you which library owns particular items all around the world. An excellent tool for learning how much has been published on a topic!
Library Search Engines
Find most ASU Library books, articles from journals, newspapers, magazines, and other resources. | About |
Google Scholar ( via ASU Library)
Works like a regular Google search but searches for scholarly information found in books, book chapters, journals and reports. By linking to Google Scholar via the library home page you can access the full-text made available.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
