Fashion History
Fashion Design and Merchandising Librarian
Need more help?
Library Image Resources for Fashion
- Artstor Collections on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore millions of high-quality, curated images from global museums, archives, and artists. Includes publicly accessible files from JSTOR’s journals and primary sources.
- Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window
A dynamic digital hub for interdisciplinary research in fashion and dress. Peer-reviewed content includes major reference works, exclusive articles, scholarly eBooks, case studies, biographies, lesson plans, bibliographic guides, textbooks, video content, runway and backstage photos from fashion shows, and tens of thousands of images from museums around the world.
- Godey’s Lady’s Book: 1830-1898 This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection from a leading 19th-century women’s magazine includes fiction, poetry, essays, reviews, music, and fashion illustrations, along with digital images of advertisements and artwork, offering a rich resource for studying women's history and culture.
- Harper's Bazaar Archive This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive archive offers digitized versions of the U.S. and U.K. editions of Harper's Bazaar from 1867 to present, featuring high-resolution images and searchable texts, providing deep insights and detailed indexing of over 150 years of fashion, culture, and societal trends.
- Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Searchable archive of American Vogue from 1892 to the present, featuring high-resolution color images of articles, ads, covers, and fold-outs, with detailed indexing for garment types, designers, and brands.
- WindowsWear This link opens in a new window
A collection of retail and visual displays dating back to 1931, offering photos for competitive research, inspiration, and trend ideas for retailers, designers, and creative professionals to enhance today's retail environments.
Online Image Resources
The following online image resources are copyright-free/open-license, free to use, and publicly accessible:
- Getty Open ContentPublic domain images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute.
- NGA Images (National Gallery of Art)Over 50,000 public domain art images.
- UCLA Library Digital CollectionsIncludes thousands of fashion images from across UCLA's collections.
- Wikimedia CommonsMillions of high-resolution images of art, architecture, design, and more.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
