Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Federal Government Information

About the Government Documents Collection

COVID-19 UPDATE

In response to current conditions (COVID-19), ASU Library is reducing its hours, restricting building access to ASU affiliates only, and temporarily suspending print collections services, including fulfillment for materials held in our High Density Collections.

Current Library hours and more information about services can be found on our Library Updates page. (https://libguides.asu.edu/continuity-library-services)

At this time, the Fletcher Library, where the majority of FDLP materials are housed, remains open with limited hours, and print materials will be available for borrowing. However, there will be limited on-site services available, and access is restricted to ASU affiliates only. We encourage patrons to take advantage of our Ask-a-Librarian service for government information, for research support and other access needs. (https://lib.asu.edu/govdocs/govdoc-info)

 

Location: Fletcher Library, ASU West campus

Phone Reference at 602-543-5525

Email Reference via GovDoc-Info

The Government Documents Collection is comprised of three collections:

The Federal Documents Collection

The Arizona State and Local Government Collection

The United Nations Collection

This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law (Title 44 United States Code).

 

This Library Guide is modeled on the great work done by Gwen Sinclair and the folks at the University of Hawa'ii at Manoa Libraries.

Find Government Documents

 

To locate publications and documents in the Government Documents Collection:

  • Recent and current federal government documents may be found in the ASU Library One Search
  • Use the Advanced Search feature to find local materials in the ASU Library Catalog
  • Materials will have a West (Fletcher) location in one of the following formats:  print, online, microfiche, CD/DVD, etc., depending on the agency and/or date published
  • Many Federal documents in our collection, prior to 1976, can not be searched through our Online Catalog.  It is possible to identify these documents using other resources, including: 

Once identified, these publications can be searched for in our physical collection.

Requesting Materials

Public and non-ASU affiliated members can request Federal documents and other government documents using the following request form https://lib.asu.edu/access/blocked/request/form

Hours and Locations