First-Generation Resource Guide

The ASU Library is committed to helping our students, faculty, and staff obtain information and materials that support their learning, research, and teaching needs.

We will: 

• Provide assistance to users, at no charge, to locate materials
• Obtain materials that ASU does not own through Interlibrary Loan for ASU affiliates
• Place no limits on the number of interlibrary loan requests our users place and subsidize any fees up to $30.00 per request
• Participate in appropriate memberships, groups and consortia that offer same-day delivery of articles as well as expedited shipping

To learn more, visit our Interlibrary Loan Guide. 

The Open Stack Collections at ASU Library include millions of print and openly-accessible digital materials for all to explore and use. The Library’s open stacks create new and ongoing opportunities for library users to discover and engage with previously unknown works.

Print books are still a cornerstone component in the Library’s landscape of learning. The design of ASU Library’s print collections is guided in part by The Future of Print initiative, with support from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, which aims to inspire new thinking around the development of inclusive, high-quality, and user-focused print collections for research and learning.

Visit the Open Stack Collections Site to view collection highlights.

If you want to suggest an item for the library to purchase, complete our Suggest Materials Form.

Community-Driven Archives

The Archives unit brings together the Community-Driven Archives Initiative; inclusive collections such as the Chicano/a Research Collection and Black Collections; and relevant archives such as the University Archives Collection and Greater Arizona Collection. This enables us to enhance our local impact and social embeddedness.

This unit includes:

• Nancy Godoy, Director, Community-Driven Archives
• Renee James, Curator, Greater Arizona Collection
• Kenia Menchaca Lozano, Archives Specialist
• Jessica Salow, Curator of Black Collections
• Shannon Walker, University Archivist

Curation and Research Services

This team focuses on the development of our Rare Books and Manuscripts Collection, and specialized materials related to Design and the Arts, Music Collection, Theatre for Youth and Community Collection, international studies, and other interdisciplinary subjects. This unit is also responsible for coordination and operation of the reading rooms at Hayden and Design libraries. 

This unit includes:

• Harold Housley, Curator for Architecture, Arts and Design Special Collections
• Rachel Leket-Mor, Curator, IsraPulp Collection; Curator, Open Stacks 
• Caelin Ross, Curator for Theatre for Youth and Community Collection
• Seonaid Valiant, Curator for Latin American Studies

Searchable finding aids are available through Arizona Archives Online. To inquiry about archival materials, reach out to curators and archivists via Ask An Archivist. 

International in scope, the Labriola National American Indian Data Center brings together the current and historical work of Indigenous authors across a multitude of disciplines. With an emphasis on language, government, education, tribal history, biography, religion and customs, the Labriola Center features thousands of books, journals, Native Nation newspapers and primary source materials, such as photographs, oral histories and manuscript collections.

This unit includes: 

• Alex Soto, Director of Labriola
• Vina Begay, Assistant Librarian 
• Eric Hardy, Program Coordinator Sr. 
• Yitazba Largo-Anderson, Program Coordinator

American Indian Organizations for Students: 

• American Indian Support Services
• Office of American Indian Initiatives