IAS 300 - Career Strategies and Personal Resilience

You can find credible websites on your career using Google.  The most effective search method is a Google advanced search called site search. Steps include:

• In the Google search box, enter your career.  E.g., forensic scientist
• After your career title, enter the following site:
• An effective method to finding credible content is to search for government (.gov) or organization (.org) sites
• Enter site: .gov .org
• This results in finding government and organization sites that often contain credible information about your career
• E.g., forensic scientist site: .gov .org         

O*Net Online is from the U.S. Department of Labor, Employment & Training Administration.

Use O*Net Online to find detailed information about careers. Tasks, Technology Skills, Work Activities, Education, etc.

What this image is about:

The webpage displays the ONET OnLine interface, primarily designed for occupation searches and career exploration resources. The top section features the ONET OnLine logo and navigation options like Help, Find Occupations, Advanced Searches, ONET Data, and Crosswalks. A search bar labeled "Occupation keyword search" is located at the top-right, currently showing the query "electrician." Below this, there are two main sections with accompanying images. The left section displays a text "ONET OnLine features" against a sunset backdrop with a construction crane. The right section showcases a collage of diverse career-related images with the title "More career sites & resources." Below, an "Occupation Keyword Search" interface is visible, with a sample search query "dental assistant" and an expandable section labeled “Introduction.” A box on the right, titled, "I want to be a…" offers links to O*NET Interest Profiler and My Next Move for career exploration.

Transcribed Text:

ONET OnLine
Help, Find Occupations, Advanced Searches, ONET Data, Crosswalks, Share, Sites
Occupation keyword search: electrician
ONET OnLine features
More career sites & resources
Introduction
Occupation Keyword Search
dental assistant
Examples: 25-1011.00, dental assistant
"I want to be a…"
Start the career you've dreamed about, or find one you never imagined. Discover your interests with the ONET Interest Profiler and find more exploration options at My Next Move.
Find your career at My Next Move

The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) is a must-use source for researching careers and for any student in IAS 300.  Its strength is the amount of detail provided, including:

• What people in specific careers and jobs do;
• The work environment; 
• What one needs to do to become a professional or worker in a particular field; 
• The pay and the future outlook for specific jobs and careers.

OOH is an important stop in career research.  START HERE!

What this image is about:

The image is a screenshot of the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Occupational Outlook Handbook webpage. The top section includes a banner with the flag-themed logo, along with links to various sections such as “HOME,” “SUBJECTS,” “DATA TOOLS,” “PUBLICATIONS,” “ECONOMIC RELEASES,” “CLASSROOM,” and "BETA." Below, navigation links are shown: "Bureau of Labor Statistics,” “Publications,” and “Occupational Outlook Handbook.” Underneath is the site’s title, “Occupational Outlook Handbook,” in bold white text on a dark blue background. A search bar labeled “Search Handbook” is on the right. Below, the title “Home” is written in large text. A gray box contains download links for the CareerInfo app for iOS and Android devices, illustrated with QR codes. Further down, headers and dropdown menus allow selection of occupations by categories such as "2021 Median Pay," "Entry-Level Education," and "On-the-job Training."

Transcribed Text:

• U.S. BUREAU OF LABOR STATISTICS
• HOME, SUBJECTS, DATA TOOLS, PUBLICATIONS, ECONOMIC RELEASES, CLASSROOM, BETA
• Bureau of Labor Statistics > Publications > Occupational Outlook Handbook
• OCCUPATIONAL OUTLOOK HANDBOOK
• Search Handbook Go
• Home
• Get the CareerInfo app for the Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH), available for iOS and Android devices.
• OCCUPATION GROUPS
• SELECT OCCUPATIONS BY: 2021 Median Pay, Entry-Level Education, On-the-job Training