Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Immigration: American Experience

Interdisciplinary Databases

Databases Related to Immigration

Border and Migration Studies Online
Provides historical context and resources, representing both personal and institutional perspectives, for the growing fields of border(land) studies and migration studies. In collaboration with an international board of scholars, materials were selected and organized around fundamental themes such as: Border Identities, Enforcement, and Disputes; Human Trafficking; and Undocumented Migration. 

America: History and Life 
Journal articles, books and book reviews in the social sciences and humanities on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present time.

AnthroSource
Premier online portal serving the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists. An online service of American Anthropological Association, AnthroSource offers access to more than 100 years of anthropological knowledge. 

Chicano Database 
Covers Mexican-American (Chicano) topics & the Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, & Central American immigrants. Contains Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, & educational literature.

Directory of Open Access (DOAJ)
indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. 

Ethnic NewsWatch  
Includes articles from newspapers, newsletters, magazines and academic journals from minority presses including African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, and Native American. 

Hispanic American Periodicals (HAPI)
Indexes worldwide information on Central & South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.- Mexico border region, &Hispanics in the Unite States. Covers analyses of current political, economic & social issues, & Latin American arts & letters.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to present with indexing to historical articles from more than 1800 journals in over 40 languages published since 1955. The related disciplines of archeology, anthropology and sociology are also covered.

PAIS Index
Covers the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics  through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.

ProQuest Congressional 
Provides access to federal legislative bills, statutes, committee hearings, committee reports, and voting history while also covering executive branch documents and executive orders.

PubMed
Primary database of information in the medical and health sciences fields. Includes articles from all areas of health, allied health, medicine, nursing, nutrition, and biomedical sciences.

Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to Present 
Online archive of published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century. The archive includes conference proceedings; reports of international women's organizations; publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organizations; letters; diaries; and memoirs of women active internationally. Covered topics include war and peace, poverty, child labor, literacy, disease prevention, women's rights and gender inequality. Sample search: click on All Works or Themes under Browses, then search for Immigration.

Newspaper Articles

Nexis Uni
Full text of over 5,000 newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, professional journals and news transcripts.

Access World News
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

New York Times
To subscribe for unlimited access to NYT.com, ASU user must initially register for Academic Group Pass account through a campus authenticated link by following these steps  (video). For access to NYT web account. click on New York Times (Web only)

ProQuest News & Newspapers
Allows for cross-searching of the Alt-PressWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch indexes as well as current Arizona RepublicBarron'sLos Angeles TimesWall Street JournalWall Street Journal AsiaWall Street Journal Europe and Chicago Tribune and historical Atlanta ConstitutionGuardianHartford CourantLos Angeles TimesNew York TimesObserverWashington PostAtlanta Daily WorldBaltimore Afro-AmericanChicago DefenderCleveland Call and PostLos Angeles SentinelNew York Amsterdam NewsNorfolk Journal and GuidePhiladelphia Tribune, and Pittsburg Courier

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Arizona Republican (1890 - 1922)Atlanta Constitution (1868 -1929)The Chicago Defender  (1905-1975)Los Angeles Times (1881-1985)The New York Times (1851-2014)The Washington Post (1877-2000)   

Videos

Films on Demand 
Comprehensive collection of educational videos available for video streaming to the computer desktop. Titles cover a wide range of topics organized into subject folders. 

Academic Video Online Premium 
Provides access to selected educational and documentary films from leading distributors covering nine broad subject areas (Art & Architecture, Diversity, Health Science, History, Literature/Language, Music/Performing Arts, Psychology/Counseling, Science/Engineering, and Social Sciences).

Hours and Locations