Login to LibApps

Noble Library News : Restoration

Keeping everyone informed about the remediation of Noble Library after the flood

We're Open!!

Noble Library is open again!  

Come visit us and see the results of the restoration!

Weeks of June 28, July 5, & July 12

Collections: 

  • Staff resumed two runs to the building each day, Monday through Friday, to retrieve needed material (books, journal articles, etc.)
  • ​Some collections have been moved out of Noble and are being stored in secured areas elsewhere on campus (these items are still retrievable for users). 
  • Plastic covering has been removed from collection remaining in Noble.
  • Staff are re-shelving items that were removed for painting.

Building:

  • Lighting work is underway
  • 1st floor flooring and ceiling work in progress

Week of June 22

Building:

  • Exterior fencing in front of the building has been extended to enclose the work being done to tie-in to the underground plumbing
  • Concrete pour-back in the first floor restrooms will begin tomorrow
  • The aisles of compact shelving are being carpeted—may finish today
  • Handrails are in the process of being stained
  • Just a few paint touch-ups left on 2nd & 3rd floors
  • White boards are being installed on 3rd floor
  • Kitchenette in the 2nd floor admin area has been installed
  • Once replacements for water-damaged lighting is received and installed, ceiling tile replacement will continue on 1st
  • Installation of wall racks begins today
  • The rubber treading for the south stairwell will be replaced due to wear and tear from construction
  • New furniture delivery sometime between July 15-22—verifying with vendor

Week of June 15th

Collections: 

  • Staff are no longer able to retrieve materials from Noble.  All book and journal requests will be filled through ILL and Borrow It Now.
  • Some collections have been moved out of Noble and are being stored in secured areas elsewhere on campus (these items are still retrievable for users).
  • Material remaining in building has been protected by plastic sheeting. 

Building:

  • Sprinklers
    • 3rd floor:  all done.  Almost all ceiling tiles have been installed.
    • 2nd floor:  all done.  Ceiling tiles will be installed next week.
    • 1st floor:  just started.
  • Carpet:  install began on 3rd floor this week. 
  • Paint: colors on walls throughout 3rd and 2nd floors.  Looks so nice!  Final coats to be applied once other work (e.g. carpet) is completed on each floor.
  • Underground plumbing
    • Sawcutting began this week.  Very busy and noisy.  They’re cutting a trench from the public restrooms to the front door right now. 
    • To be done:  digging, pipe bursting, pipe install, concrete pouring
    • Then the new restrooms on the 1st floor will be installed.
    • All this work will last through the end of July.

Weeks of June 1 and June 8

Collections: 

  • Staff are no longer able to retrieve materials from Noble.  All book and journal requests will be filled through ILL and Borrow It Now.
  • Some collections have been moved out of Noble and are being stored in secured areas elsewhere on campus (these items are still retrievable for users).
  • Material remaining in building has been protected by plastic sheeting. 

 


Scaffolding - South end of the atrium
So glad someone doesn't mind working up high
May 28

 

Building: 

  • Sprinkler system installed on 3rd floor and pressure tested; sprinkler system work on 2nd floor begins week of June 1. 
  • Painting in the building is continuing.  A palette of 4 colors will be seen throughout the building to complement the new carpet.
  • We will have plants in the atrium again. No more giant wooden "tubs". The new planters look like 4-foot-high flower pots.  
  • Mechanical and electrical repairs continue. 
  • Plumbing: 
    • First floor restrooms have been demolished.  
    • Digging the trench to repair the underground plumbing.

Weeks of May 18 and May 26

Collections: 

  • Staff continuing two runs to the building each day, Monday through Friday, to retrieve needed material (books, journal articles, etc.)
    • Between March 6th and May 15th we retrieved over 1300 items. 
  • ​Some collections have been moved out of Noble and are being stored in secured areas elsewhere on campus (these items are still retrievable for users). 
  • Material remaining in building has been protected by plastic covering. 

Building: 

  • Installation of the new sprinkler system is underway.  Third floor is finished and is being pressure tested May 28-29. 
  • 1st and 2nd floor MEP (mechanical, electrical, plumbing) demolition is almost done
  • Painting is done on the 3rd floor
  • Painting is beginning on 2nd floor
  • An underground trench will be dug on the 1st floor to replace underground piping
  • Estimated move-in date for furniture is July 23!
  • Still on schedule to be open by Fall semester with public spaces ready, however, some construction in staff areas will continue during the semester.  

 

Weeks of May 4 and May 11

Collections: 

  • Staff continuing two runs to the building each day, Monday through Friday, to retrieve needed material (books, journal articles, etc.)
  • Some collection have been moved out of Noble and are being stored in secured areas elsewhere on campus (these items are still retrievable for users)
  • Material remaining in building has been covered in plastic


2nd floor, northwest corner study area
Thursday, May 7

Building:

  • Elevators are now operational!
  • Asbestos abatement work is finished
  • Ceiling tile demolition is finished except for a few spots that will require lifts to reach 
  • Demolition of old MEP (mechanical, electrical, plumbing) systems continues:
    • Old fire sprinkler system demo should be finished soon 
  • Furniture removal continues and is expected to be finished as of Friday May 8th
  • Removal of millwork continues
  • Interior design choices are being made:
    • Colors for accent walls - especially for the 1st floor and group study rooms
    • The Information Desk will be replaced with modular furniture, not immovable wood structure it had been.  The Desk will be in a similar configuration to what it once was to take advantage of existing electrical and data ports, but will now allow for reconfiguration as needs change.

Weeks of April 20 and April 29

Collections: 

  • Staff continuing two "runs" to the building each day, Monday through Friday, to retrieve needed material (books, journal articles, etc.)
  • Some collection have been moved out of Noble and are being stored in secured areas elsewhere on campus (these items are still retrievable for users)
  • Materials from wall shelving are being removed to provide access for wall repairs



Noble Library 3rd floor, northwest corner, study area
Thursday, April 23
(photo by Brad Vogus)

Building:

  • Elevator repairs underway; expected to be functional by the beginning of May
  • Asbestos abatement has been moved to week of April 29th to allow for more testing of air handling system
  • Finishing furniture removal from 2nd and 3rd floors 
  • Ceiling tile demo has begun with the 3rd floor 
  • Removal of millwork begins

Weeks of March 30, April 6, and April 13

Collections:

  • Staff continuing two "runs" to the building each day, Monday through Friday, to retrieve needed material (books, journal articles, etc.)
  • Plastic protection now on all shelving and cabinets holding the collections
  • Some collections have been moved out of Noble and are being stored on other buildings on campus (these items are still retrievable for users)

Protecting the books
Noble Library 3rd floor, book shelves, east side looking south
Thursday, April 2
(photo by Brad Vogus)

Building: 

  • Finish furniture inventory to determine which pieces are to be salvaged, sent to cleaning or put in storage 
  • Furniture from 1st floor removed; furniture on 2nd and 3rd floors are staged and ready for removal
  • Identify some suitable pieces to move to Hayden Library to increase seating there.
  • Boxing of items in closets and supply rooms 
  • Asbestos testing continues 
  • Removal/storage of signage throughout the building
  • MEP (mechanical, electrical, plumbing) proposals submitted
  • Elevator motors delivered on April 15th; expected to be functional in two weeks 



Damaged Atrium Tree; Dismantling furniture.
Noble Library 1st floor, atrium looking toward southeast corner of study area
Thursday, April 9
(photo by Brad Vogus)

Weeks of March 16 and March 23

Collections: 

  • Staff are now doing two "runs" to the building each day, Monday through Friday, to retrieve needed material (books, journal articles, etc.)

Building:  

  • Items in office areas boxed
  • The HVAC system restored
  • Networking systems restored
  • Inventory of furnishings started
  • Project Plan in place for first 5 weeks (end of April)

Week of March 9

For areas that received water damage: 

  • Drying equipment was used to speed up moisture removal. 
  • Some damaged material (furnishing, furniture, ceiling titles) was removed from the building or moved aside to allow moisture abatement measures. 
  • Drywall was cut back 18 -24 inches above the floor. 
  • Initial damage assessment was conducted. 

The collections (books, journals, maps, standards, microfilm/fiche, etc.) were doubled checked for damage.  Only a few sheet maps received water damage when a ceiling tile gave way in the map workroom.  (Sighs of relief all around.) 

Friday March 6

Workers extracting water in the Silent Study Room on the 2nd Floor of Noble Library on Friday March 6.
(Photo: Tom Tingle/The Arizona Republic; via AZCentral)

Get Help ...

http://lib.asu.edu/help

Photos ...




New Colors!
Thursday, May 28
 


Poor lonely, naked atrium
Thursday, May 7
 

Damaged plants removed 
1st floor, atrium
Thursday, April 23

 


Furniture Removal
2nd floor, study room
Thursday, April 9
 


Waterlogged Carpet Tiles
loading dock area
Saturday, March 18

 

"Lake Atrium"
1st floor, atrium
Friday, March 6

(all photos by Brad Vogus)

Hours and Locations