Rare Books and Manuscripts holds manuscript collections by or about authors, literary research, printers, political issues, film history, science and math research, Southeast and East Asian war correspondents, and translators' papers. 

Arizona Archives Online (AAO) contains finding aids that provide more detailed information for some of these collections. To limit a search to ASU's Rare Books and Manuscripts holdings, select "Special Collections" under Arizona State University.

Not all manuscript collections have an AAO finding aid. The Accession Records of Rare Books and Manuscripts contain brief descriptions of some unprocessed collections.

Beat Generation

• Burroughs, William Seward Papers

Biographer

• Eells, George Papers
• Morgan, Ted Papers
• Schwarz, Ted Papers
• Spada, James Papers

Children's Authors

• Cosner, Shaaron Papers
• Place, Marion T. Papers

War Correspondents in China

• Belden, Jack Papers 
• China War Reporting Conference Records
• Fisher, Francis McCracken Papers
• Steele, A. T. Papers and A. T. Steele Photographs (ASU Digital Repository)

Holocaust (Shoa) Survivor

• Klein, Gerda Weissman and Kurt Papers

Literary Research

•  Salerno, Nicholas A. Literary Papers

Printers

• Hill, Edwin Bliss Papers
• Mosher, Thomas Bird Papers

Political

• Kaufman, Lucile B. Papers
• Kennedy, John F. Collection

Science/Math 

• Michael Helfert Viewing Earth From Space Collection
• Lopez, Robert S. Collection
• Minckley, Wendell L. Papers
• Smarandache, Florentin Papers 

Science Fiction

• Cook, Paul Papers
• Foster, Alan Dean Papers

Southeast Asian

• Guardian of the Flame Sri Lanka Manscripts Collection and Manuscripts Images (ASU Digital Repository)
• Mimijac Palgen Cambodian Photographs (ASU Digital Repository)
• Sage, William W. Collection on Laos

Translators' Papers

• Ahern, Maureen Papers
• Bjork, Robert E. Translators' Papers
• Kilmartin, Terrence Kevin Papers

Authors

• Burroughs, William Seward Papers
• Cook, Paul Papers
• Cosner, Shaaron Papers
• Darío, Rubén Papers (ASU Digital Repository) and online Finding Aid
• Foster, Alan Dean Papers
• Gerber, Helmut E. Papers
• Jennings, Marianne M. Papers
• Klein, Gerda Weissman and Kurt Papers
• Kusche, Larry P. Papers
• Leonard, Phyllis G. and Walter Papers
• Morgan, Ted Papers
• Pelieu, Claude Collection
• Place, Marion T. Papers
• Schwarz, Ted Papers
• Swarthout, Glendon and Kathryn Papers
• Trevor, Elleston Papers

Film

• Blakely, Gene Collection
• Derr, Richard Papers
• Eells, George Papers
• Lawford, Peter Papers
• Leslie, Dorée Papers
• Motion Picture Poster Collecton
• Movie Press Kits
• Newsweek Video Archives
• Salerno, Nicholas Film Collection
• Singer, Stan Collection
• Star Wars Collection
• Spada, James Papers
• Starr, Jimmy Papers
• Wizard of Oz Collection

Television

• Allen, Steve Papers
• Blakely, Gene Collection
• Farnsworth, Philo T. and George Everson Papers

Theatre

• American Theatre Playbills Collection
• Arizona Theatre Collection
• ASU Department of Theatre Records
• Blakely, Gene Collection
• Bradford, Benjamin Collection
• Danowski, Christopher Floyd Papers
• National Theatre Collection
• Performing Arts Scrapbook Collection
• Playbill Collection
• Steely, Guy Floyd Papers
• Tarrant, Ruth Sullivan Collection
• Tongret, Joann Yeoman Papers
• Valentine, Kristin Bervig Collection

These collections are limited to no more than two linear feet of materials.

• Baca, Pamela Kahn Papers
• Beardsley, Aubrey Papers and Notes
• Fleming, Dick Papers
• Gilbreth, Frank Bunker and Lillian Collection
• Goldberg, Beckian Fritz Papers
• Goudy, Frederic W. Typographical Collection
• Greenwald, Nicholas Oral History
• Guirey, Ernest L. and H. C. Nixon Manuscript
• Harris, Josephine Papers
• Lamb, Charles Collection
• Maryjane Tonight at Angels Twelve Manuscript
• McDonald, Arlys L. Collection 
• Mesnier, Earl R. Collection
• Henning, Lloyd C. Collection Regarding the Roycrofters
• Singer, Stan Collection
• Smothers, Frank Collection