Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Arizona State and Local Government Information

A guide to Arizona government information at the state, regional, county, and local levels.

Arizona State and Local Documents

The ASU Library maintains an extensive collection of materials published by Arizona state and local government agencies. This collection helps researchers, students, and community members access valuable information about the state’s history, policy, and public affairs.

Need help?
We encourage you to use our Ask-a-Librarian service for government information for help with research, appointment requests, or accessing materials.

Access for Non-ASU Affiliates
Visitors who are not affiliated with ASU are welcome to request materials, but an appointment is required to use them in the library.

About the Collection
The Arizona State and Local Government Documents Collection includes more than 45,000 documents published since Arizona became a state in 1912. Materials include:

  • Annual reports and budgets from state and local agencies

  • Arizona Revised Statutes and the Arizona Administrative Code

  • State legislative materials

  • Planning and policy documents on topics such as transportation, health, crime, and the environment

  • Periodicals such as Arizona Wildlife

The collection is organized by the issuing agency (not by subject) using a classification system developed by ASU Library. Most materials are housed in the High Density Storage Collection and can be requested through the library catalog.

Finding and Using Materials
All items are fully cataloged and searchable in the ASU Library Catalog. Look for AZDOC as the location.

Some newer, born-digital government documents are also available online through the ASU Library Arizona State and Local Government Documents Collection repository.

Acquisition Policy
The library actively collects materials from:

  • Arizona state agencies

  • All 15 Arizona counties

  • Selected incorporated cities and towns

  • Various associations of local governments

We collect in all formats—print materials are stored in the High Density Storage Center (available by request), and electronic materials are available online through the ASU Library Catalog.

Need assistance?
Specialized help is available in person, by phone, or via email.