Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Arizona State and Local Government Information

A guide to Arizona government information at the state, regional, county, and local levels.

Counties Background

The 15 counties in Arizona are basic subdivisions of the state, with elected officials providing local accountability of state mandated functions. The basic principles of these municipal governments are found in Article 12 of the Arizona Constitution.

Current laws regarding Arizona counties are available from Title 11 of the Arizona Revised Statutes. More and more, counties are providing needed municipal-type services and addressing problems common to their geographic area.

For an excellent introduction to understanding local government in Arizona, Arizona Local Government located in Government Documents, is highly recommended.

For frequently requested data items from various Census Bureau programs for Arizona Counties, view Census Quick Facts.

For a detailed overall look at local governments in the United States, please refer to the Census of Governments.

County Links

Link to the official county web site by name (view more detailed information from the Arizona County drop down menu above).   Browse the official county publications held in our collection via the corresponding Local Arizona Document Call Number link.  All Arizona counties are actively collected by Government Documents Service; older publications are available in print on Level 3 of the Hayden Library, while recent publications may be linked electronically from our catalog.

Apache County - ASU Call Number XCA

Cochise County - ASU Call Number XCC

Coconino County - ASU Call Number XCCO

Gila County - ASU Call Number XCGI

Graham County - ASU Call Number XCGH

Greenlee County - ASU Call Number XCGR

La Paz County - ASU Call Number XCLP

Maricopa County - ASU Call Number XCMA

Mohave County - ASU Call Number XCMO

Navajo County - ASU Call Number XCNA

Pima County - ASU Call Number XCPM

Pinal County - ASU Call Number XCPN

Santa Cruz County - ASU Call Number XCSC

Yavapai County - ASU Call Number XCYA

Yuma County - ASU Call Number XCYU


Arizona Association of Counties - XGAC - The Arizona Association of Counties (AACo) is the only state organization that represents all county officials and the governments they serve in the State of Arizona. Founded in 1968, AACo provides essential services to the state's counties. AACo advances issues with the state and federal government, improves the public understanding of county government, assists counties in finding and sharing innovative solutions through education and research and provides value-added services to save counties and taxpayers money.  

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.