Shakespeare at 400: From Fiction to Fact
By Year & Author(s)
Halliwell-Phillipps, J. O., ed. The Works of William Shakespeare: In Reduced Facsimile from the Famous Folio Edition of 1623: With an Introduction. Chatto and Windus, 1876. 1 volume (various pagings): facsimiles, portrait; 20 cm.
PR2751 .A15 1876 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Lee, Sidney. Shakespeares Comedies, Histories, & Tragedies. Clarendon Press, 1902. xxxv, [16], 303, 46, 49-100, [2], 69-232, [2], 79-80, [25], 98, [2], 109-156, 257-993 [i.e. 339], 45, [2] pages: illustrations, portrait.
FICHE 6X9 4 Hayden Library Microforms Storage
Pollard, Alfred W. Shakespeare Folios and Quartos; a Study in the Bibliography of Shakespeare's Plays, 1594-1685. Methuen and Company, 1909. vij, 175, [1] pages: illustrations (facsimiles); 37 x 24 cm.
SPEC BAF-7 High Density Storage Collection Rare Books and Manuscripts
Bowditch, Charles P. The Connection of Francis Bacon with the First Folio of Shakespeare's Plays and with the Books on Cipher of His Time. [Cambridge] University Press, 1910. 47 pages: illustrations, xiv plates (including portraits, facsimiles); 29 cm.
PR2944 .B6 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Bartlett, Henrietta C., ed. Mr. William Shakespeare; Orginal and Early Editions of His Quartos and Folios: His Source Books and Those Containing Contemporary Notices. Yale University Press, 1922. xxviii, 217 pages; 24 cm.
PR2894.Z99 B3x 1922 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Rhodes, R. Crompton. Shakespeare's First Folio: A Study. Appleton, 1923. 147 pages; 23 cm.
PR2885 .R56X High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Gollancz, Israel. Studies in the First Folio Written for the Shakespeare Association in Celebration of the First Folio Tercentenary and Read at Meetings of the Association Held at King's College. H. Milford, Oxford University Press , 1924. xxxiv, 182 pages, 47 leaves of plates: illustrations, portraits, facsimiles; 26 cm.
PR2900.Z99 S49x High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Morgan, Appleton. Mrs. Shakespeare's Second Marriage, Being an Examination of a Persistent Theory: With an Attempt to Account for the Absence of Any Record of Any Marriage Either of William Shakespeare or of Mrs. Shakespeare: And for the Sources from Which Messrs. Jaggard and Blount Obtained Authority for Including in the First Folio of 1623 Sixteen Shakespeare Plays Not Previous Printed in Quarto and the Text from Which to Print Them. Shakespeare Society of New York; The Unionist-Gazette Association, 1926, 1925. 63 pages; 25 cm. Papers of the Shakespeare Society of New York, no. 14.
PR2906 .M6 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Smith, Robert Metcalf with Howard Seavoy Leach. The Shakespeare Folios and the Forgeries of Shakespeare's Handwriting in the Lucy Packer Linderman Memorial Library of Lehigh University, with a List of Original Folios in American Libraries. Lehigh University, 1927. 47 pages: facsimiles; 23 cm. Circular (Lehigh University. Institute of Research), no. 7; Studies in the Humanities, no. 1; Lehigh University Publications, v. 1, no. 2.
PR2900 .Z99 S59 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Digital copy from Lehigh University
Smith, Robert Metcalf. The Variant Issues of Shakespeare's Second Folio and Milton's First Published English Poem, a Bibliographical Problem. Lehigh University, 1928. cover-title, 62 pages: illustrations, facsimiles; 23 cm. Circular (Lehigh University. Institute of Research), no. 14; Studies in the Humanities, no. 4; Lehigh University Publication, v. 2, no. 3.
PR2900 .Z99 S6 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Willoughby, Edwin Eliott. The Printing of the First Folio of Shakespeare. Oxford University Press, 1932. xiii, 70 pages; 4 facsimile (2 double; including folded frontispiece); 22 cm. Supplement to the Bibliographical Society's Transactions, no. 8.
PR2900.Z99 W55 1932 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Haverford College. Library Associates. The Shakespeare Folios at Haverford College; Papers and Addresses to Commemorate Their Presentation. Library Associates of Haverford College, 1948. 27, [1] pages, 6 unnumbered leaves of plates; 23 cm. Occasional Publication, no. 1.
PR2900.Z99 H38x High Density Storage Collection Stacks
See William Shakespeare in Haverford Special Collections
Walker, Alice. Textual Problems of the First Folio; Richard III, King Lear, Troilus & Cressida, 2 Henry IV, Hamlet, Othello. Cambridge University Press, 1953. viii, 170 pages; 19 cm. Shakespeare Problems, 7.
Shroeder, John W. The Great Folio of 1623; Shakespeare's Plays in the Printing House. Shoe String Press, 1956. pp. ix, 125 pages: illustrations, facsimiles; 25 cm
PR2900.Z99 S5x High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Shroeder, John W. The Great Folio of 1623; Shakespeare's Plays in the Printing House. Shoe String Press, 1956. pp. ix, 125 pages: illustrations, facsimiles; 25 cm
SWO-988 High Density Storage Collection Child Drama Collection
Hinman, Charlton. The Printing and Proof-Reading of the First Folio of Shakespeare. Clarendon Press, 1963. 2 volumes: illustrations, portraits, facsimiles; 26 cm.
V. 1. Introductory Considerations: Needs, Tools, Methods. V. 2. The Printing: A Detailed Analysis.
PR2900 .Z99 H55 v.1-2 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Baldwin, T.W. On Act and Scene Division in the Shakspere First Folio. Southern Illinois University Press, 1965. xi, 179 pages; 25 cm.
PR2997.A3 B29 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Hinman, Charlton . The First Folio of Shakespeare. Hamlyn, 1968. xxvii, 928 pages: portrait; 37 cm.
PR2751 .A15 1968b High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Hinman, Charlton . The First Folio of Shakespeare, 1st ed. W.W. Norton, 1968. xxvii, 928 pages: portrait; 37 cm. The Norton Facsimile.
PR2751 .A15 1968 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
PR2751 .A15 1968 Folio West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks
Hinman, Charlton . The First Folio of Shakespeare, 1st ed. W.W. Norton, 1968. xxvii, 928 pages: portrait; 37 cm. The Norton Facsimile.
SPEC B-18 Hayden Library Rare Books and Manuscripts
Bartlett, Henrietta C., ed. Mr. William Shakespeare, Original and Early Editions of Quartos and Folios: His Source Books and Those Containing Contemporary Notic. Kraus Reprint, 1969. xxviii, 217 pages; 24 cm.
PR2900.Z99 B3 1969 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Halliwell-Phillipps, J. O., ed. The Works of William Shakespeare: The Text Formed from a New Collation of the Early Editions: To Which Are Added All the Original Novels and Tales on Which the Plays Are Founded; Copious Archaeological Annotations on Each Play; an Essay on the Formation of the Text; and a Life of the Poet: By James O. Halliwell .... [AMS Press], 1970. 16 volumes: frontispieces, illustrations, plates, facsimiles; 30 cm
PR2753 .H2 1970 v. 1-16 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Kable, William S. The Pavier Quartos and the First Folio of Shakespeare. W. C. Brown Co, 1970. 128 pages; 27 cm.
PR3081 .K3x High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Pollard, Alfred W. Shakespeare Folios and Quartos; a Study in the Bibliography of Shakespeare's Plays, 1594-1685. Cooper Square Publishers, 1970, 1909. vij, 175 pages: facsimiles; 31 cm. A Marandell Book.
PR2900.Z99 P64x 1970 West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks
Varma, R.S. Shakespeare's First Folio; a Bibliographical Introduction. Kitab Mahal, 1970. vii, 107 pages: illustrations; 23 cm.
PR3071 .V27 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Morgan, Appleton. Mrs. Shakespeare's Second Marriage. AMS Press, 1971, 1926. 63 pages; 19 cm. Papers of the Shakespeare Society of New York, 14.
PR2906 .M6 1971 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Walton, J. K. The Quarto Copy for the First Folio of Shakespeare. Dublin University Press, 1971. [9], 306 pages; 23 cm.
PR3071 .W32x High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Howard-Hill, T. H. . Ralph Crane and Some Shakespeare First Folio Comedies. University Press of Virginia, 1972. xvi, 190 pages; 24 cm.
PR3070 .H75 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Johnson, Edward D. The First Folio of Shake-speare. Norwood Editions, 1976, 1932. ix, 91 pages [1] leaf of plates: portrait; 23 cm.
PR2944 .J6 1978 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Otness, Harold M. The Shakespeare Folio Handbook and Census. Greenwood Press, 1990.xii, 134 pages: illustrations; 25 cm. Bibliographies and Indexes in World Literature, no. 25.
PR3071.Z99 O86 1990 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Moston, Doug. The First Folio of Shakespeare, 1623. Applause, 1995. lix, 896 pages: illustrations; 28 cm.
PR2751 .A15 1995 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Hinman, Charlton. The First Folio of Shakespeare, 2nd ed. W.W. Norton, 1996. xxxvii, 928 pages: illustrations; 38 cm.
PR2751 .A15 1996 High Density Storage Collection
West, Anthony James. The Shakespeare First Folio: The History of the Book. Oxford University Press, 2001-2005. 2 volumes: illustrations; 25 cm.
V. 1. An account of the first folio based on its sales and prices. V. 2. A new worldwide census of first folios.
PR2888 .W47 2001 v.1-2 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks
Weingust, Don. Acting from Shakespeare's First Folio: Theory, Text and Performance. Routledge, 2006. xiii, 226 pages; 23 cm.
PR3091 .W45 2006 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks
Collins, Paul. The Book of William: How Shakespeare's First Folio Conquered the World. Bloomsbury, 2010, 2009. viii, 246 pages; 21 cm.
PR2888 .C65 2010 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Rasmussen, Eric and Anthony James West, eds. The Shakespeare First Folios: A Descriptive Catalogue. Palgrave Macmillan, 2011. xxii, 935 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates): illustrations (some color); 24 cm.
PR2900.Z99 S43 2011 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Rasmussen, Eric. The Shakespeare Thefts: In Search of the First Folios. Palgrave Macmillan, 2012, 2011. xv, 212 pages: illustrations; 21 cm.
PR3071 .R37 2012 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Mays, Andrea E. The Millionaire and the Bard: Henry Folger's Obsessive Hunt for Shakespeare's First Folio. Simon & Schuster, 2015. xvi, 350 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates: illustrations; 24 cm.
Z989.F66 M28 2015 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Smith, Emma. The Making of Shakespeare's First Folio. Bodleian Library, University of Oxford, 2015. ix, 180 pages, 32 unnumbered pages of plates: illustrations (some color), facsimiles; 24 cm.
PR3071 .S52 2015 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks
Smith, Emma. Shakespeare's First Folio: Four Centuries of an Iconic Book. Oxford University Press, 2016. xiv, 379 pages: illustrations; 23 cm.
Oxford Scholarship Online Complete: Unlimited Access
PR3071 .S53 2016 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Smith, Emma, ed. The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare's First Folio. Cambridge University Press, 2016. xiii, 203 pages; 23 cm. Cambridge Companions to Literature .
PR3071 .C35 2016 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks
Vickers, Brian. The One King Lear. Harvard University Press, 2016. xxi, 387 pages.
eBooks on EBSCOhost: 3 Users
[PR2819 .V53 2016]
Lowenthal, David. Shakespeare's Thought: Unobserved Details and Unsuspected Depths in Thirteen Plays. Lexington Books, 2017. xvii, 313 pages.
Ebook Central: Unlimited Access
[PR3001 .L69 2017 Online]
Gunderson, Lauren. The Book of Will. Dramatists Play Service, 2018. 93 pp.
PS3607.U5473 B66 2018 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks
Higgins, Ben. Shakespeare's Syndicate: The First Folio, Its Publishers, and the Early Modern Book Trade. Oxford University Press, 2022. xii, 291 pages: illustrations, maps, facsimiles; 24 cm.
Oxford Scholarship Online Complete: Unlimited Access &
PR3071 .H56 2022 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
