Sociology

21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook provides a concise forum through which the vast array of knowledge accumulated, particularly during the past three decades, can be organized into a single definitive resource. Focus on the corpus of knowledge garnered in traditional areas of sociological inquiry, as well as document the general orientation of the newer and currently emerging areas of sociological inquiry. Key Features Provides a timely and comprehensive assessment of the 100+ specialty fields of sociology with contributions by leading authorities in their area of expertise from the U.S., Canada, Europe, and Singapore. Examines four distinct phases of development in the history of sociological inquiry--a period of theoretical development, the emphasis on methodological development and refinement, the phase of specialization, and a period that has taken representatives of the discipline into previously unexplored areas Addresses the various traditional subfields of sociology, such as political sociology, educational sociology, rural sociology, criminology, occupational sociology, and minority relations Explores important new, evolving subfields, such as environmental sociology, sociology of sports and leisure, military sociology, medical sociology, the sociology of food and eating, and the sociology of emotions.

This reference source for students, researchers, and academics in the field brings together specially commissioned entries written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers. An essential reference for expert and newcomer alike, with entries ranging from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics. Provides clear, concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts. Presents materials that have historically defined the discipline, but also more recent developments, significantly updating the store of sociological knowledge. Introduces sociological theories and research that have developed outside of the United States and Western Europe. Offers sophisticated cross-referencing and search facilities. Features a timeline, lexicon by subject area, bibliography, and index Updating

The Encyclopedia of Social Problems offers an interdisciplinary perspective on many social issues that are a continuing concern in our lives, whether we confront them on a personal, local, regional, national, or global level. With more than 600 entries, these two volumes cover all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in social problems and also provide insight into how social conditions get defined as social problems, and the ways different people and organizations view and try to solve them. Key Features · Provides as comprehensive an approach as possible to this multifaceted field by using experts and scholars from 19 disciplines: anthropology, biology, business, chemistry, communications, criminal justice, demography, economics, education, environmental studies, geography, health, history, languages, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and women′s studies · Presents a truly international effort with contributors from 17 countries: Argentina, Australia, Canada, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, India, Ireland, Italy, Kenya, New Zealand, Romania, Scotland, Turkey, and the United States · Addresses social problems that are fairly new, such as computer crimes and identity theft, and others that are centuries old, such as poverty and prostitution · Examines social problems differently from place to place and from one era to another · Explains the perspectives and foundations of various social theories and offers different lenses to view the same reality Readers investigating virtually any social problem will find a rich treasure of information and insights in this reference work.

The Encyclopedia of Social Theory is an indispensable reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary social theory. It examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. Theories covered include * Critical Theory * Enlightenment * Ethnomethodology * Exchange Theory * Feminism * Marxist Theory * Multiculturalism * Phenomenology * Postmodernism * Rational Choice * Structural Fundamentalism Led by internationally renowned scholar George Ritzer, the Encyclopedia of Social Theory draws together a team of more than 200 international scholars covering the developments, achievements, and prospects of social theory from its inception in the 18th century to the present. Understanding that social theory can both explain and alter the social world, this two-volume set serves as not only a foundation for learning, but also an inspiration for creative and reflexive engagement with the rich range of ideas it contains. Key Themes* American Social Theory * British Social Theory * Comparative and Historical Theory * Cultural Theory * Economic Sociology * Feminist Theory * French Social Theory * German Social Theory * Macrosociological Theories * Marxist and Neo-Marxist Approaches * Method and Metatheory * Network and Exchange Theories * Other/Multiple National Traditions * Politics and Government * Postmodern Theory * Psychoanalytic Theory * Schools and Theoretical Approaches * Symbolic Interaction and Microsociology * Theorists * Topics and Concepts in Social Theory Key Features * More than 300 entries from fourteen countries

Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.- Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields- Discusses history, current trends and future directions- Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading

The second edition of this landmark volume emphasizes the dynamic, interactional, and reflexive dimensions of the research interview. Contributors highlight the myriad dimensions of complexity that are emerging as researchers increasingly frame the interview as a communicative opportunity as much as a data-gathering format. The book begins with an overview of the history and conceptual transformations of the interview, which is followed by chapters that discuss the main components of interview practice. Taken together, the contributions to the handbook encourage readers to simultaneously learn the frameworks and technologies of interviewing and reflect on the epistemological foundations of the interview craft. The handbook has been updated to address recent developments, especially in qualitative interviewing. Twenty-six chapters are completely new; the remaining twelve chapters have been substantially revised to give readers access to the state of the art of interview research. Three entirely new sections include "Logistics of Interviewing," "Self and Other in the Interview," and "Ethics of the Interview."