Wellness at ASU Library
Managing Stress and Anxiety
- Detaching from Emotional Pain (Grounding Techniques)This gives information on grounding, reasons to practice grounding and guidelines on how to safely perform grounding techniques, whether physically or mentally.
- Managing Difficult EmotionsThis offers coping strategies for managing difficult emotions like anger, discouragement, anxiety, and sadness when they become really intense.
- Panic Attacks HandoutThis shares facts about panic attacks and strategies for coping during a panic attack.
What causes panic attacks, and how can you prevent them? - Led by Cindy J. Aaronson, this TED-Ed video covers panic attack triggers and signs, as well as potential treatments for panic disorder. (Note: This video contains captions and a transcript.)
ASU Wellness: Stress and Resilience - This webpage explores what makes up stress, how to evaluate your stress levels and how to assist a stressed friend. There are also resources on various topics, including emotional well-being, physical well-being and spirituality.
ASU Wellness: Coping with Anxiety -This webpage offers habitual coping methods for anxiety, as well as ASU counseling resources and national crisis hotlines.
Breathing Exercises
- 9 Breathing Exercises to Relieve AnxietyThis web article from Verywell Mind lists several breathing techniques used to relieve anxiety. Among others, these include box breathing, belly breathing, and alternate-nostril breathing. This article includes cited sources for further reading.
- Belly Breathing Exercise: Calming the Body and MindPublished by the Indiana University School of Medicine, this video guides you through the belly breathing exercise and contains calming visuals.
Note: Captions are embedded in the video. - Box Breathing Relaxation TechniqueThis animated video demonstrates the box breathing technique, which can help relieve anxiety and regulate breathing back to normal after a stressful experience. The Sunnybrook Hospital Centre in Toronto, Canada uploaded this video.
Note: This video contains captions by pressing the captions button.
Big Stretch
Image from GetArchive, CC 1.0 License
- 10 best stretches for office workersSimple exercises you can do while sitting or standing at your desk.
- Desk stretches to ease aches and painsAches and pains can make us feel uncomfortable and affect our productivity. You can perform these exercises at your desk to help ease any strain.
- Exercises and stretches from National Institutes of HealthErgonomics is simply “fitting the task to the worker” rather than forcing the worker to fit the task. Applying ergonomic principles to work stations can help prevent a variety of conditions, such as back pain and carpal tunnel syndrome.
- A guide to basic stretches from Mayo ClinicStretching can increase flexibility and improve the range of motion in your joints, helping you move more freely. What's more, the flexibility you gain from stretching might protect you from injury.
Relax and Decompress
Image from GetArchive, CC 1.0 License
- Deepak Chopra's 3-minute meditationPhysician and educator Deepak Chopra leads this three-minute meditation exercise to help reset your focus and calm you down.
Note: Captions are embedded in the video, but you can still use the caption button if needed. - Flow 3-minute mindfulness exerciseThis 3-minute meditation video exercise lets you organize thoughts and emotions to clear your mind of clutter and negative stress.
Note: This video contains captions by pressing the captions button. - Meditation and how to do itThis Mindful magazine article define meditation, why meditation is beneficial, how to meditate, and what meditation exercises can look like.
- Relaxation techniques for stress reliefProvided by the nonprofit HelpGuide.org, this article shares eight techniques for combating stress and promoting stress relief.
Counseling Resources at ASU
- ASU Counseling ServicesASU Counseling Services are for any Sun Devil, regardless of your race, gender, sexual orientation, age, student status, religion, ability, size, financial situation, past counseling experience or the issue you're dealing with. Something as simple as talking to someone can help you feel better, improve your grades and manage stress.
- Counselor Training Center at ASUThis community mental health training clinic caters to community clients, ASU and Arizona college students and ASU faculty and staff. It trains Master of Counseling students and Counseling Psychology doctoral students in counseling and psychotherapy. Sessions are all done under the supervision of licensed faculty members. Sessions can be done in-person or through via secure Zoom accounts throughout the day. All sessions are free for Arizona college students, $60 for ASU faculty and staff, and $80 for community members per semester. Typically, up to 14-15 sessions are provided per semester.
- ASU Clinical Psychology CenterThe ASU Clinical and Psychology Center provides psychotherapy and psychological assessments to the university and the community at large. This center also provides brief alcohol intervention: if a university student get a DUI, they can get a brief intervention and get the charge reduced or wiped off their record.
- Counseling and Wellness @ ASUThe Employee Assistance and Employee Wellness team’s focus is to support the health and well-being of the ASU workforce. They offer programs and services for employees, managers, leaders and groups to educate, inform, assess, support, screen or refer employees to appropriate health care providers. Employees can receive brief interventions on a wide range of behavioral health topics that can impact both individuals and teams. Also available are community assistance resources and referrals to providers affiliated with employees’ insurance for those seeking long-term mental health services. Call 480-965-2271 to schedule an appointment. All services are confidential.
- Behavior Response TeamThe ASU Behavior Response Team (BRT) provides a cross-disciplinary approach to assessing potential or actual threatening employee behavior. The BRT evaluates situations and makes recommendations to minimize danger. Report all violent or threatening conduct by an ASU employee.
- ASU Employee AssistanceThe ASU Employee Assistance Office provides referrals and community assistance resources for ASU employees. Learn more about local and national agencies that can assist individuals and families with food, shelter, caregiver needs, mental health and drug and alcohol abuse prevention programs.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
