Skip to main content

Untold Histories: About the Display

This guide provides further information about the Untold Histories display currently showcased at Noble Library

About the Display

This display aims to show students how history can be told in ways outside of traditional academic work. This collection contains poetry, graphic novels, personal narratives, nonfiction, and oral history, all curated towards revealing the often untold history of marginalized communities.

This display was curated by student workers Claudio Garcia, Preetpal Gill Victoria Perez-Carranza, and Gricelda Terrazas.

About Future of Print

Print is not dead. In this era of digital media, as university libraries worldwide are significantly reducing their open stack print collections, vital conversations are needed in the development of new design strategies and methodologies for print curation in the 21st century. Future of Print is a three-year project exploring a data-driven and community-aware approach to developing inclusive print collections for the reopening of Hayden Library in 2020.

 

https://lib.asu.edu/futureprint

About Community Driven Archives

Latinxs, African Americans, Asian Americans, and the LGBT community make up over 42% of Arizona's population but are only represented in 0-2% of known archival collections. The Community Driven Archives is a three-year project designed to address this inequality, through building and expanding community-driven collections in an effort to preserve and improve Arizona's archives.

 

https://lib.asu.edu/communityarchives

Untold Histories Workshop

Join us for an Untold Histories Workshop on April 3rd at the MU! In this workshop you can learn about oral histories and record your own for preservation in the archives. This is an informal workshop, students, faculty, and community members are encouraged to drop by at any point during the event to learn about and experiment with the technology of recording and preserving oral histories.

 

Date: April 3rd, 2019

Time: 2pm-6pm (drop-in)

Place: Pima Room, Memorial Union

Librarian

Hours and Locations