Using ASU Library E-Resources

ASU Library provides access to online journals, databases, e-books and streaming media that are not freely available on the open web. The tools below assist you in connecting to full-text content, whether you're searching from the library's site or elsewhere online.

One-click access to full text from the web

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that connects you to ASU Library’s full-text articles and e-books as you browse sites like PubMed, Google Scholar, publisher pages, Wikipedia and other research platforms. Once installed, it provides one-click access without the need to start on the library website.

Set up LibKey Nomad

1. Go to the LibKey Nomad Download Page
2. Choose your browser and install the extension
3. When prompted, select Arizona State University Library from the list of organizations.

That’s it! LibKey Nomad will automatically display access buttons whenever ASU Library content is available. Think of LibKey Nomad as your library companion wherever you conduct research. You no longer need to visit the library website first. LibKey Nomad brings the ASU Library directly to you.

What LibKey Nomad does:

LibKey Nomad adds badges or buttons (depending on the platform) that connect you to ASU Library’s content. These include:

• Download PDF – direct link to the article in PDF format
• Article Link – view the article on the publisher’s site
• View E-Book – direct link to the full e-book on the publisher’s platform
• Access Options – alternate access when ASU Library doesn’t have the PDF, including Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
• Retracted Article – a clear alert when an article has been formally retracted, with a link to more information
• Additional tools – some badges may also include options to:
  • Open LibChat  - start a live chat with Ask a Librarian
  • Export Citation - send to a citation manager or download a file format
  • Hide - temporarily close the badge for 24 hours

These access points usually appear as a floating badge in the bottom-left corner of your browser window, but may also appear as buttons within databases, publisher sites or other research platforms. To change where the badge appears:

1. Open the LibKey Nomad extension in your browser.
2. Go to Nomad User Settings.
3. Choose where the badge appears on your screen: bottom left, bottom right, top left, or top right.

Where you’ll see LibKey Nomad:

You’ll see LibKey Nomad buttons across many research platforms, including:

• Publisher sites: Elsevier, Wiley, Springer, Oxford, ACS, AAAS
• Scholarly databases: PubMed, Scopus, Embase, SciFinder-n
• Research tools: Google Scholar, Wikipedia, UpToDate, Covidence, Consensus
• E-books: Amazon, Google Books and publisher platforms

Find full text resources using a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) or PubMed Identifier (PMID)

Already have a DOI or PMID? Use LibKey.io to check whether ASU Library provides access to the article.

• Go to LibKey.io 
• Enter the DOI or PMID
• Select Arizona State University if prompted
• If available, you’ll get a direct download or read online link

BrowZine lets you browse and read scholarly journals available through ASU Library. Use it on the web or download the free app for iOS and Android.

• Browse journals by subject or search for titles
• View journal rankings (SCImago and JCR impact metrics)
• Create a personal bookshelf and get alerts for new issues
• Save articles for offline reading or export to citation managers (Zotero, EndNote, Mendeley)

Coverage: BrowZine provides access to most journals from 2005 to present. For earlier issues, use Journal Search in the library catalog.

Mobile users: Download the free BrowZine app, select Arizona State University from the library list, log in with your ASURITE ID, and start browsing or add journals to your bookshelf to get alerts for new issues.

For desktop users, go to BrowZine at ASU Library 

See what’s available through ASU while searching Google Scholar

Google Scholar can display direct links to content licensed by ASU Library once you update your settings.

Set up ASU Library links in Google Scholar:

1. Go to Google Scholar
2. Open the menu (☰) → Settings
3. Click Library Links
4. Search for "Arizona State University" and check the box
5. Click Save

You’ll now see “Full-Text @ ASU” links next to results when access is available.