Databases by Type
- For Journals in All Business Areas
- ABI/Inform (1923+)
- Applied Science and Business Periodicals Retrospective (1913-1983)
- Business and Industry Database (1994+)
- Business Insights: Essentials (formerly Business and Company Resource Center) (1980+)
- LexisNexis Academic
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1973+) in Web of Science
- For Journals in Specialized Areas
- EconLit (1886+)
- Globethics.net Library (1965+)
- Leisure Tourism Database (1974+)
- SBRnet: Sports Business Research Network (1993+)
- World Agricultural Economics & Rural Sociology Abstracts (1990+)
- For Newspapers
- Access World News (1977+)
- Arizona Republic(1999+)
- CD News: Arizona Republic (1987-June 2009)

- CD News: Arizona Republic (1987-June 2009)
- Barron's (1986+)
- Business NewsBank CDROM: Historical Files (1985-1998)

- Los Angeles Times (1985+)
- LexisNexis Academic
- Wall Street Journal Editions:
- Wall Street Journal (1984+)
- Wall Street Journal Asia (1991+)
- Wall Street Journal Europe (1991+)
- World News Connection (1994+)
COMPANY FINANCIALS/INVESTMENT DATA
- Best's Insurance Reports

- Bureau van Dijk Databases:
- Mint Global (user-friendly version of Orbis)
- Orbis (expert search version of Mint Global)
- OSIRIS (public companies only, but with credit ratings and more historical financials)
- InvestorEdge
- LexisNexis Academic using Company Dossier search form
- Mergent Historical Annual Reports in Mergent Archives (1900+)
- Mergent Intellect (formerly Hoover's)
- Mergent Online
- Mergent/Moody's Manuals in Mergent Archives (1900+)
- Morningstar Investment Research Center
- Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage
- For All Types of Companies/Organizations
- Bureau van Dijk Databases:
- Mint Global (user-friendly version of Orbis)
- Orbis (expert search version of Mint Global)
- OSIRIS (public companies only, but with credit ratings and more historical financials)
- Gale business directories using Company Finder in Business Insights: Essentials (formerly Business and Company Resource Center)
- LexisNexis Academic using Company Dossier search form
- Mergent Intellect (formerly Hoover's)
- Million Dollar Database - Global Reach use Mergent Intellect
- Standard and Poor's Register in Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage
- Wards Business Directory in Gale Directory Library
- For B2B Suppliers
- Kompass
- Thomas Registers Online:
- ThomasNet (U.S. and Canada)
- Solusource (International)
- For Other Selective Types of Companies/Organizations
- Associations Unlimited (Trade associations)
- Gale Directory Library (Broadcast media, consultants, publishers, govt advisory orgs, research centers)
- Cambridge Economic Histories in Cambridge Histories Online
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Knovel: Supply Chain Management & Logistics
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
- Sage Knowledge
- For Most Industries
- Business Monitor International, First Research, etc. using the Data & Reports search in ABI/Inform
- First Research
- Gale industry encyclopedias using the Industries search in Business Insights: Essentials (formerly Business and Company Resource Center)
- Mergent Intellect (reports provided by First Research)
- For Major Industry Sectors
- Mergent Online (Click the Report Search tab and select Industry Reports.)
- S&P Industry Surveys in Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage (1998+)
- For Selected Industries
- Datamonitor reports in Orbis (Click on the Industry Research tab and select the Document Library option.)
- Manufacturing and Distribution USA
- Mintel Academic Reports
- Passport GMID (1977+)
- U.S. Commercial Service: Market Research Library
- For Specialized Research Areas
- SBRnet: Sports Business Research Network (1993+)
- SRDS Media Solutions (includes Local Market Audience Analyst)
- CCH Internet Research Network
- CCH Tax Research NetWork (1978+)
- Country Commerce and Country Finance in Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
- Country Commercial Guides in U.S. Commercial Service: Market Research Library
- LexisNexis Academic using US Tax Law, Accounting , Federal Statutes & Codes, and State Statutes & Codes search forms
- RIA Checkpoint Accounting and Auditing
- RIA Checkpoint Tax
- World Bank Knowledge Resources: Financial & Private Sector Development
- OECD iLibrary (1988+)
- STAT-USA File Sources (1970+)
STATISTICS AND COUNTRY ANALYSIS
- For Consumer Data
- Choices II: Simmons Study of Media and Markets (1995-2000)

- Choices III: Simmons Study of Media and Markets (2001+)

- Gallup Poll News Service in LexisNexis Academic
- iPoll Databank (1935+)
- Local Market Audience Analyst
- Mintel Academic Reports
- Passport GMID (1977+)
- Polling the Nations Online (1986+)
- Choices II: Simmons Study of Media and Markets (1995-2000)
- For Country Profiles
- Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) (1980+)
- Mergent Online (Select from Country Profiles options.)
- Political Risk Services reports in LexisNexis Academic (Search for country in previous year, then sort by relevance.)
- World Bank Knowledge Resources: Financial & Private Sector Development
- For Economic/Demographic Data
- China Data Online (1949+)
- Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) (1980+)
- Financial Soundness Indicators (2008+)
- First Research
- Historical Statistics of the United States (colonial times-2000)
- IFS Online (1948+)
- Mergent Online (Click on the Economics tab for U.S. economic time series data.)
- OECD iLibrary (1988+)
- Passport GMID (1977+)
- ProQuest Statistical Insight (1971+)
- STAT-USA File Sources (1970+)
- UNdata (dates vary)
- USA Trade Online (Access from Government Documents Services computer on 3rd floor of Hayden Library)
- World Bank Data
- World Development Indicators (WDI) (1960+)
- Global Development Finance (GDF) (1970+)
- African Development Indicators (ADI) (1961+)
- Global Economic Monitor (GEM) (1981+)
- For Industry/Product Data
- Import Genius
- OECD iLibrary (1988+)
- Passport GMID (1977+)
- ProQuest Statistical Insight (1971+)
- STAT-USA File Sources (1970+)
- TableBase (1995+)
- USA Trade Online (Access from Government Documents Services computer on 3rd floor of Hayden Library)

ELECTRONIC JOURNAL COLLECTIONS
- China Academic Journals - Economics & Management (1957+)
- Elsevier's Science Direct
- Emerald (1989+)
- INFORMS PubsOnLine (1998+)
- JSTOR
- Oxford Journals Online (1989+)
- Research Now: A bepress portal (2000+)
- Sage Premier (1948+)
- SpringerLink
- Wiley Online Library
- Ad*Access (1911-1955)
- Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920
- Medicine and Madison Avenue (1910-1950)
Business Librarians
Email business librarians

Lydia LaFaro
Specialties: Accounting, Finance, Management, Real Estate, Supply Chain Management

Jenny Mueller-Alexander
Specialties: Agribusiness, Economics, Information Systems, Marketing
Additional Sources
Business Subject Guides
Browse the other subject guides on specific business topics to find additional information sources and research advice.
Company/Industry Research Flowcharts
Refer to these flowcharts for a visual overview of the research process with links to the basic recommended sources.
Loading...
