Skip to Main Content
Login to LibApps


Archival Instruction at ASU Library

Resource for ASU faculty, staff, and community partners to learn about archival instruction opportunities at ASU Library

Primary Source Literacy

DocsTeach - online tool for teaching with primary sources from the National Archives education division.

Guidelines for Primary Source Literacy - developed by the Association of College and Research Library (ACRL) Rare Books and Manuscripts Section (RBMS) and Society of American Archivists (SAA) Joint Task Force on the Development of Guidelines for Primary Source Literacy in Summer 2017.

Information Literacy

Historical Thinking Standards - developed by by the National Center for History in the Schools at the University of California, Los Angeles under the guidance of the National Council for History Standards. The standards were developed with funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities and the U.S. Department of Education and published in 1996.

Framework for Information Literacy in Higher Education - developed by American Library Association (ALA) division ACRL in 2015, the Framework is organized into six frames, each consisting of a concept central to information literacy, a set of knowledge practices, and a set of dispositions. 

Archival Research

Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research - produced by Laura Schmidt for SAA, updated in 2016, this guide outlines the functions and procedures of archives, and is designed both for first-time archives users and scholars who have already conducted research in archives.

Copyright and Unpublished Material - created by the Intellectual Property Working Group for SAA, this text is intended to answer questions about archives and manuscript collections that may be protected by copyright.

FAQ

Questions?

Visit our FAQ page to get up-to-date answers regarding ASU Library Archives and Distinctive Collections.

For Collections highlights visit the Distinctive Collections news and blog page.

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.