Skip to Main Content
Login to LibApps


Archival Instruction at ASU Library

Resource for ASU faculty, staff, and community partners to learn about archival instruction opportunities at ASU Library

Citing Archival Collections

Most finding aids will include a preferred citation. Use it! And remember: you can never over-cite. You can under-cite.

Our preferred citation:

[Papers Name], [Collection Number]. Arizona State University Library: [Collection Name].

Example:

Ed Pastor Papers, MSS-131. Arizona State University Library: Chicano Research Collection.

Additional ASU Library citation resources: 

  • ASU Library supports three citation managers: Zotero, Mendeley, EndNote.

For more: Citation Management Libguide

  • ASU Library One Search can generate citations.

For more: Citation Generating Libguide

  • ASU Library Citation Styles Library Guide answers when to cite a source, what citation style to use, and how to create citations. 

For more: Citation Styles

Copyright

Copyright and Privacy Rights

  • Collections at ASU may still be subject to copyright and privacy rights restrictions based on the deed of gift. The head of the unit or collection curator can answer questions regarding use and access to specific collections.
     
  • ASU Library Introduction to Copyright Libguide covers Fair Use, often referenced for academic work. 

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.