Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Archival Instruction at ASU Library

Resource for ASU faculty, staff, and community partners to learn about archival instruction opportunities at ASU Library

Archives

The Archives unit brings together Community-Driven Archives, inclusive collections such as the Chicano/a Research Collection and LGBTQ collections, and archives related to the University, community, state, and regional constituents. This enables us to enhance our local impact and social embeddedness.

This unit includes:

  • Elizabeth Dunham, Accessioning, Processing, and Description Archivist
  • Nancy Godoy, Community-Driven Archives Director; Chicano/a Research Collection Archivist
  • Jasmine Torres, Assistant Archivist for the Community-Driven Archives (CDA) Initiative. 
  • Renee James, Archivist, Greater Arizona Collection
  • Kenia Menchacha Lozano, Archives Specialist
  • Jessica Salow, Curator, Black Collections
  • Shannon Walker, University Archivist

Searchable finding aids are available through Arizona Archives Online. 

Distinctive Collections

This team focuses on the development of our collections of rare books, manuscripts, and specialized materials related to art, design, music, theater, theatre for youth, international studies, and other interdisciplinary subjects. This unit is also coordinates and operates the reading rooms at Hayden and Design libraries. 

This unit includes:

  • Harold Housley, Archivist, Design and Architecture Special Collections
  • Seonaid Valiant, Curator, Latin Americana Collections
  • Caelin Ross, Performing Arts Librarian, Curator, Theatre for Youth and Community Collectio, 

Searchable finding aids are available through Arizona Archives Online. 

Rare books and other printed material are searchable through the ASU Library Catalog.

Research Appointments

Ask an Archivist is the point of contact for assistance regarding access and use of archival material. It is the platform to submit general collections questions and research inquiries as well request instruction sessions, get connected with an archivist or curator, and to make research appointments. 

Permanent URL: lib.asu.edu/askanarchivist

Reading Rooms

Interested in a Collection? Get in touch with an archivist to learn more at Ask An Archivist. Appointments need to be made 3-5 days in advance to use most materials.

Be sure to check the ASU Library re-open hours and procedures before scheduling appointments. 

Wurzburger Reading Room

  • Appointments to view Distinctive Collections and Archives material (Chicano/a Research Collection, Child Drama, Greater Arizona Collection, Rare Books and Manuscripts, University Archives) and Labriola* special collections will be scheduled at the Wurzburger Reading Room in Hayden Library (room no. 138) on the Tempe Campus. 

*People wishing to view Labriola materials at West Campus may also schedule an appointment in the Labriola Reading Room at West.

Design & the Arts Special Collections Reading Room

  • Appointments to view materials from Design and the Arts Special Collections will be scheduled at the  Reading Room in the Design and the Arts Library on Tempe Campus. 

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.