Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


CRD 500 Research Methods

To support this course on research methods in Community Resources and Development

Selected Databases

Index to Current Urban Documents Index to Current Urban Documents includes reports and research generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, academic and research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies in over 500 major cities in the United States and Canada.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Indexes journals, popular periodicals, professional association publications, US state & regional periodicals, and major serials on architecture and design. Other subjects include Archeology, City & Urban planning, Historic preservation, etc.

Index to Aerial Photographs of Arizona Cities, Towns & Locales Lists cities or parts of cities shown on aerial photographs in the ASULibraries' Map Collection. Includes Arizona Highway Dept. photos taken along state highways & interstates (late 1950s/early 1960s), & the Fairchild photos taken in the 1930s.

ABI/INFORM Complete This comprehensive business database merges the content of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Archive and The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition. It includes articles from thousands of English-language publications worldwide covering business, management, and related areas

Leisure Tourism Database Brings together an archive of worldwide information regarding research and strategic development of leisure, recreation, sport, tourism, ecotourism, and hospitality activities, facilities, products and services. Includes journal articles, research papers, books and conferences as well as references originally published in Leisure, Recreation, and Tourism Abstracts. Uses indexing terms from a classified thesaurus and special codes to aid retrieval.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text Covers all aspects of sport, physical fitness, sport science and recreation. Includes sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education, and other sport and fitness related topics

World Resources Report This resource from the World Resources Institute and several UN agencies focuses on the importance of good environmental governance by exploring how citizens, government managers, and business owners can foster better environmental decisions that meet the needs of people and ecosystems with equity and balance.

Get to Know Your Resources

Find the librarian skilled in your research area. They can help you determine the best databases and resources for your topic.

Get acquainted with the Research Guide for your subject. This will supply descriptions and links for the major sources in your field.

The ASU Library provides a network of physical and virtual resources for your use. We have a comprehensive collection of databases for finding research articles. The research guides in your area and your subject librarian can help you find the best starting point. 

Our book collection contains both print and e-books. You can easily find both in our catalog.

Interlibrary Loan and Document  Delivery -  Don't find the item you need? Our Interlibrary Loan service can get it for you. 

Need to do a Literature Review for a project, publication, thesis, or dissertation?  Take a look at tools and information on this page, Graduate Research and the Literature Review.

Search for dissertations that have been done on your topic before you begin your thesis or dissertation. The library provides a database called Proquest Dissertations and Theses which includes the full text of many doctoral dissertations from institutions in the United States and abroad.

JournalTOCs - Keep current with this searchable collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs). Sign up for alerts when new content is published. 

Finding the Full Text of Articles

The yellow "Get it @ ASU" links or other full-text links within our databases should take you to the article if we have it. But if it doesn't, it's a good idea to check further. There's a good chance that we might still have the article you need. There are several ways that you can do this:

Search the title of the article in Google Scholar. If you put the title of the article in quotation marks into the search box it will be a little more specific, but that's not always necessary. Usually just a simple cut and paste will work. Use the "get it @ ASU" links within Google Scholar to take you to the article. 

Search the title of the article in Library One Search. Same procedure as above. Note that this will only find the article if ASU has it, so it's more limiting than a Google Scholar search.

If those methods don't work, you can make a final check using our our Journal Title Lookup feature to lead you to the volumes of that particular journal that we have access to online.

These are also the methods you can use to find an article if you have gotten a reference from another source, such as a bibliography, and already know the citation information (journal name, volume number, date, etc.).

Hours and Locations