Design Justice
What Is Design Justice?
The Design Justice-Diversity Collection is dedicated to curating an equitable and accessible collection of resources in service of our diverse learning community. The collection is a collaborative and central partner in student success, faculty and staff excellence, research innovation, and social responsibility. The purpose of the collection is to build a platform where individuals have easy access to share knowledge and build an intentional collection that recognizes, value, and embrace the diverse and multiple identities within our community. Containing readings, lectures, scholarly articles, and resources from authors with diverse backgrounds, this collection emphasizes a range in perspectives, authorship, audience and subject matter within the realm of design. By purposefully developing diverse, equitable and inclusive collections, we aspire to foster a community of scholars and lifelong learners who engage in critical inquiry and social justice that reflects their own background and the backgrounds of others.
Ted Talks about Design Justice
Justice by Design: Antionette Carroll
What is in the Design Justice Collection?
African American Architects by Call number: Exhibit NA738.B53 M58 2020ISBN: 9781734496000Publication date: 2020-01-15
Are You an Inclusive Designer? by
Despite improvements in the last 20 years we still have a long way to go before all of our buildings, places and spaces are easy and comfortable for all of us to use. This book puts forward a powerful case for a totally new attitude towards inclusivity and accessibility. Exploring both the social and the business cases for striving for better, this book will empower architects to have more enlightened discussions with their clients about why we should be striving for better than the bare minimum, and challenging the notion that inclusive design should be thought of reductively as simply a list of "special features" to be added to a final design, or that inclusivity is only about wheelchair access. This book will be to help make inclusive design business as usual rather than something that is added on to address legislation at the end of the development process. Accessible and engaging, this book will be an invaluable resource for students as well as practicing architects, richly illustrated with case studies showing both good and bad examples of inclusive design and celebrating inclusion.
Call number: Exhibit NA2545.P5F54 2019ISBN: 9781859468524Publication date: 2019-11-14
Art After Stonewall 1969-1989 by
Art after Stonewall reveals the impact of the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender civil rights movement on the art world. Illustrated with more than 200 works, this groundbreaking volume stands as a visual history of twenty years in American queer life. It focuses on openly LGBT artists like Nan Goldin, Harmony Hammond, Lyle Ashton Harris, Greer Langton, Glenn Ligon, Robert Mapplethorpe, Catherine Opie, and Andy Warhol, as well as the practices of such artists as Diane Arbus, Jean-Michel Basquiat, and Karen Finley in terms of their engagement with queer subcultures. The Stonewall Riots of June 1969 sparked the beginning of the struggle for gay and lesbian equality, and yet fifty years later, key artists who fomented the movement remain little known. This book tells the stories behind their works - which cut across media, mixing performance, photographs, painting, sculpture, film, and music with images taken from magazines, newspapers, and television.
Call number: Exhibit N6493 1969 . A78 2019ISBN: 9780847864065Publication date: 2019-04-16
Making the Mission by
In the aftermath of the 1906 San Francisco earthquake, residents of the city's iconic Mission District bucked the city-wide development plan, defiantly announcing that in their neighborhood, they would be calling the shots. Ever since, the Mission has become known as a city within a city, and a place where residents have, over the last century, organized and reorganized themselves to make the neighborhood in their own image. In Making the Mission, Ocean Howell tells the story of how residents of the Mission District organized to claim the right to plan their own neighborhood and how they mobilized a politics of place and ethnicity to create a strong, often racialized identity--a pattern that would repeat itself again and again throughout the twentieth century. Surveying the perspectives of formal and informal groups, city officials and district residents, local and federal agencies, Howell articulates how these actors worked with and against one another to establish the very ideas of the public and the public interest, as well as to negotiate and renegotiate what the neighborhood wanted. In the process, he shows that national narratives about how cities grow and change are fundamentally insufficient; everything is always shaped by local actors and concerns.
Call number: Exhibit F869.S36 M57 2015ISBN: 9780226141398Publication date: 2015-11-17
Women of Steel and Stone by
2017 Best STEM Books List Women of Steel and Stone features 22 thoroughly researched and engaging profiles of architects, engineers, and landscape designers, describing these groundbreakers' strengths, interests, and challenges as they were growing up and starting their careers, and what they achieved. Inspiring a new generation of girls who are increasingly engaged in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math) fields, the biographies stress hard work, perseverance, and creativity. Set against the backdrop of landmark events such as the women's suffrage and civil rights movements, the industrial revolution, and more, the profiles offer not only important historical context but also a look at some of the celebrated architects and engineers working today. Sidebars on related topics, source notes, and a bibliography make this an invaluable resource for further study.
Call number: Exhibit NA1997. L49 2017ISBN: 9781613736678Publication date: 2017-03-01
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
