Login to LibApps

HST 304/JST 304: Jews and Christians in the Middle Ages: Getting Started

HST 304/JST 304: Jews and Christians in the Middle Ages

Encyclopedia Articles and Historical Overviews

Encyclopedia Judaica: An authoritative, multimedia work that covers many topics related to Jewish history, culture, religion, and practices. The 2007 edition is on the Gale Virtual Reference Library platform. A print set of the 1972 edition is available at Hayden Library Reference.

Jewish Encyclopedia (1906): This is a historical work from the early 20th century that has not been updated.  

Jewish Women: A Comprehensive Historical Encyclopedia: Edited by Alice and Moshe Shalvi, made available online by the Jewish Women's Archive.

The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages, edited by Robert E. Bjork. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2010. Print edition.

New Catholic Encyclopedia: A comprehensive encyclopedia with thousands of articles on the theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, and musicians related to the Catholic Church. 

The New Cambrigde Medieval History: Access Cambridge Histories Online and select Browse, then General History tab to access this 8-volume encyclopedic work, arranged by time periods.

Online Tools

Research Tools

Chicago Manual of Style Online: Provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices for the digital age. The Chicago Manual of Style Online also provides tools, such as sample correspondence, proofreaders’ marks, and a quick guide to citation. Print copies are available for in-library use only.

 

RefWorks Library Guide: A Web-based bibliography database manager that allows you to collect, organize and manage a personal database of book and article citations. Use your RefWorks database to create bibliographies and/or format papers with in-text citations and a bibliography in the style of your choice.


Websites and Digital Humanities Projects

Expulsion of Jews, 1100-1600: A Wikimedia map.

Jews and Journeys: Travel and Performance of Jewish Identity: An Online Exhibition from the Herbert D. Katz Center for Advanced Judaic Studies 2011-2012 Fellows at the University of Pennsylvania.

Mapping the Jewish Communities of the Byzantine Empire: The project aims to map the Jewish presence in the Byzantine empire using GIS (Geographical Information Systems), based on published and unpublished data. University of Cambridge.

Routes of Sefarad: An Interactive multimedia site featuring the Sephardic heritage, "thanks to the technology provided by Google, the visitor can navigate through the layers of informations displayed in maps and timelines about the history, culture and heritage of the Jews in Spain in a single website."


Hebrew Date Converter: Convert a Gregorian calendar date into the equivalent date on the Hebrew calendar, and vice verse. Includes Hebrew view.

Hours and Locations