Login to LibApps

HST 394: Holocaust and Film: Articles and Film Reviews

Online Film Indexes

General Online Article Indexes with Film Content

Jewish Studies and Multidisciplinary Articles

Jewish Studies and Film Studies

Jewish Studies Source: Covers several hundred full-text titles, including leading academic journals, monographs, related articles from major periodicals and newspapers.
Index to Jewish Periodicals: Covers Jewish history, activity and thought. Provides a comprehensive guide to articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus: An article index to many of the leading film and cinema journals.

Film Indexes Online: Directory of films from the catalogs of the American Film Institute (AFI Catalog) and the British Film Institute (Film Index International).

 

Humanities and Social Sciences

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost): A multidisciplinary database that provides access to thousands of journals.

JSTOR: A multidisciplinary database that provides full-text and image access to  back issues of selected scholarly journals.

PAO- Peridical Archives Online (1770-1995): Full-text archive of hundreds of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.

Print Resources

Variety Film Reviews, 1907-1980.  21 vols.
PN 1993 .V36 West Ref
Reprints of Variety's reviews of feature films.  Reviews appear chronologically.  Use title index in Vol. 16 or the indexes in the back of subsequent volumes.

Film Review Index:  Vol. I:  1882-1949,   Vol. II:  1950-1985.
PN 1995 .F5134x West Ref
An index to film reviews in newspapers, magazines, trade journals, reference works, and monographic surveys.  Good place to start.

A Guide to Critical Reviews.  Part IV:  The Screenplay.
PN 2277 .N5 S3x West Ref
2 vols. + supplement.
Indexes reviews in mostly popular magazines for about 12,000 American and foreign screenplays (feature length movies) from 1927 to 1980.

Selected Film Criticism.  7 vols.
PN 1995 .S426 West Ref
Selected reprinted reviews from trade journals and magazines.  Each film averages two short reviews.  Covers 1896 to 1960.  Good source for quick information and evaluation.

Film Literature Index
PN 1993 .F46x West Ref Index
International index to scholarly and trade journals about film, video and television.  Very good source for film criticism and reviews.

Hours and Locations