HST 394: Holocaust and Film

Holocaust Films/ The Holocaust in Films
The Visual Center - Online Film Database, Yad Vashem: A digital film library and comprehensive database of Holocaust-related cinema information and reference material.

Holocaust Studies

Dictionary of the Holocaust: Biography, Geography, and Terminology. Eric Joseph Epstein and Philip Rosen; foreword by Henry R. Huttenbach. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997.

The Holocaust encyclopedia. Walter Laqueur, editor; Judith Tydor Baumel, associate editor. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2001.

Nazi-Deutsch/Nazi-German: an English lexicon of the language of the Third Reich. Robert Michael and Karin Doerr; forewords by Paul Rose, Leslie Morris, Wolfgang Mieder. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002.

Yad va-Shem Holocaust Lexicon: Basic, condensed information. Entries are based on Yad va-Shem's Encyclopedia of the Holocaust.

The YIVO encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe:A definitive work about the civilization of Eastern European Jewry; includes primary source materials such as documents, images, audio and video, as well as maps. A print edition is available here

Encyclopaedia Judaica: Second and latest edition (2007). Entries are available in full-text, PDF and MP3 formats; cross-references are hyperlinked; includes illustrations. This electronic edition is part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library which enables searching across additional reference works. A print copy of the first edition (1972) is available here.

Film Studies

Holocaust Films/ The Holocaust in Film

• The Holocaust in books and films: a selected, annotated list / [co-editors, Judith Herschlag Muffs, Dennis B. Klein]. New York: Hippocrene Books, 1986. D810 .J4 H646x 1986.
• Films of the Holocaust: an annotated filmography of collections in Israel / Sheba F. Skirball. New York: Garland Pub., 1990. D804.3 .S59 1990
• The Holocaust in books and films: a selected, annotated list / [co-editors, Judith Herschlag Muffs, Dennis B. Klein]. New York: Hippocrene Books, 1986. D810 .J4 H646x 1986
• The Holocaust, Israel, and the Jews: motion pictures in the National Archives / compiled by Charles Lawrence Gellert. Washington, DC: Published for the National Archives and Records Administration by the National Archives Trust Fund Board, 1989.

Holocasut Studies

The Encyclopdia of the Holocaust. Israel Gutman, editor in chief. New York: Macmillan, 1990.

The Holocaust Encyclopedia. Walter Laqueur, editor; Judith Tydor Baumel, associate editor. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2001.

The Oxford Handbook of Holocaust Studies. Edited by Peter Hayes and John K. Roth. New York: Oxford University Press, 2010.

The Routledge Atlas of the Holocaust. Martin Gilbert. London; New York: Routledge, 2002. 

Shoʻah: Enciclopedia del Holocausto (Spanish). Robert Rozett y Shmuel Spector, (reds.); director de redacción, Efraim Zadoff; traductores, Elena Cohen Imach [et al.]. Jerusalém: E.D.Z. Nativ ediciones: Yad Vashem, 2004.

People in the Holocaust

Holocaust Literature: an Encyclopedia of Writers and their Work. S. Lillian Kremer, editor. New York: Routledge, 2003.

Encyclopedia of Holocaust Literature. Edited by David Patterson, Alan L. Berger, and Sarita Cargas. Westport, Conn.; London: Oryx Press, 2002.

Holocaust Survivors: a Biographical Dictionary. Emily Taitz. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2007.

Jewish Life in Eastern Europe

The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe. Gershon David Hundert, editor in chief.  New Haven [Conn.]: Yale University Press, 2008.

The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life before and during the Holocaust. Editor in chief, Shmuel Spector ; consulting editor, Geoffrey Wigoder; foreword by Elie Wiesel.  Jerusalem: Yad Vashem; New York : New York University Press, 2001.

Specific Topics

Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933-1945. Bloomington, Ind.: Indiana University Press; Washington, D.C.: United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, 2009-