Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Popular Culture Studies

Reference Sources

Encyclopedias

American Popular Culture in the Era of Terror: Falling Skies, Dark Knights Rising, and Collapsing Cultures / Jesse Kavadlo. Santa Barbara, California: Praeger, 2015.

Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: Heroes and Superheroes / editors, Bart H. Beaty, Stephen Weiner. Ipswich, Mass.: Salem Press, 2012.

Encyclopedia of American Studies / George T. Kurian, general editor; Miles Orvell, senior editor; Johnella E. Butler, editor; Jay Mechling, editor. Danbury, Conn.: Grolier Incorporated, 2001.

The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction: An online project that aims to "provide a comprehensive, scholarly, and critical guide to science fiction in all its forms;" won the British Science Fiction Association Award for Best Nonfiction and the European Science Fiction Society award for Best Prompter of the genre.  

The encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy through 1968: A Bibliographic Survey of the Fields of Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Weird Fiction through 1968, edited by Donald Tuck. Chicago: Advent Publishers, 1974–1982: A 3-volume print set, PN3433.4 .T82x 1974.

The Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture / edited by M. Thomas Inge and Dennis Hall. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002. 

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism:  individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

The Oxford History of Popular Print Culture. Kelly, Gary, Joad Raymond, and Christine Bold. 2011. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

A Pathfinder on the Evolution of the English Detective Novel: This guide, put together by R. D. Towery of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, include links to many reference sources, bibliographies, and research materials.

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture / with an introduction by Jim Cullen; editors, Tom Pendergast and Sara Pendergast. Detroit, Mich. : St. James Press, 2000.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America: Covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink.


Guides and Bibliographies

Bibliographies, International Association for the Study of Popular Music: Includes science fiction soundtracks, electronic dance, the Beatles, Jazz, and more.

Bibliography of Science Fiction and Fantasy: A Web Publishing Center: Sponsored by the Science Fiction Research Association, the International Association for the Fantastic in the Art, Extrapolation Magazine, and the Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Collection at Cushing Library, Texas A&M University. 

Books and Beyond: the Greenwood Encyclopedia of New American Reading / edited by Kenneth Womack. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2008.

The Readers' Advisory Guide to Genre Fiction / Joyce G. Saricks. Chicago: American Library Association, 2009.

Pulp Magazines Bibliography: A lengthy bibliography of scholarly literature.

Understanding religion and popular culture: theories, themes, products and practices / edited by Terry Ray Clark and Dan W. Clanton, Jr.  Abingdon, Oxon ; New York : Routledge, 2012.


Societies and Associations

Popular Cultures Discussion Group, Association of College and Research Libraries: Join the discussion!


Academic Presses

Scarecrow Press: Among other subjects, this publisher specialises in film, and in television and radio.

American popular culture in the era of terror : falling skies, dark knights rising, and collapsing cultures
Santa Barbara, California : Praeger, [2015]

Subject Headings and Library Catalogs

Media Resources

African American Comic Book: PBS's History Detectives (Season 9, Episode 4). Includes the video and transcript of the full episode.

Hours and Locations