Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Popular Culture Studies

Databases, Sites, Collections

American Popular Culture: General

American Popular Literature Collection, Northern Illinois University (1840–1940).

Ray & Pat Browne Library for Popular Culture Studies, Bowling Green State Library.

Pulp Fiction at the Library of Congress

​Russel B. Nye Popular Culture Collection, Michigan State University Libraries.

Ad*Access: Historical images of ads printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines (Duke University, 1911–1950).

Candy Wrapper Archive: Cataloged, annotated, and digitized wrappers, 1900s–present.

Archive of Americana: Early American books, pamphlets, broadsides and rare printed materials.

Southern Cultures: Center for the Study of the American South, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974: Key events, trends, and movements through personal items, oral histories, official, radical, and alternative organizations; ephemeral publications, ads, and Universal newsreel footage.

The Kiss Kiss Kill Kill Archive: Cinema artifacts (posters, still images), films, music, games.

CharacTour: An online database for fictional characters; may be searched by character's history, interests, skills, etc.

 

American Film Scripts: Includes authorized versions of screen play with bibliographic information about the writers and movie characters. 

Film Indexes Online: Provides access to the catalogs of the American Film Institute (AFI Catalog) and the British Film Institute (Film Index International).

Media History Digital Library: Access collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access.


Music

Performing Arts Encyclopedia, Explore music, theater, and dance at the Library of Congress: Provides information about the Library's collections, includes online presentations, articles and biographical essays, finding aids to collections, and databases for performing arts resources.

Popular Music Studies Database: Based on the bibliographic project of Philip Tagg (University of Montreal), with collaboration with the Istituto Interculturale di Studi Musicali Comparati of the Fondazione Giorgio Cini in Italy. Interface in English.

Cornell University Hip-Hop Collection (CHHC): "The mission of the (CHHC) is to collect and make accessible the historical artifacts of Hip Hop culture and to ensure their preservation for future generations."

Hip-Hop Radio Archive: Not affiliated with either the Internet Archive or Cornell's Hip-Hop Collection.

The Massachusetts Hip-Hop Archive 

The Center for Popular Music: Middle Tennessee State University. 

DC Punk Archive: D.C Public Library collection documents the history and culture of local D.C.

Popular Music and Culture Collection: Georgia State University. 

DJ Screw Papers, 1975–2006: University of Houston Libraries.

What's on the Menu? The New York Public Library, 1850–1924

Menus: the Art of Dining: University of Nevada Las Vegas, 1870–1930

WorldCat Cookcook Finder: Explore cookbooks and more from libraries around the world.

Jewish Cookbooks, New York Public Library

Mexican Cookbooks, University of Texas at San Antonio

Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database: Texas A&M University.

Paskow Science Fiction Collection: Temple University. 

The Eaton Collection of Science Fiction and Fantasy: University of California at Riverside.

Science Fiction Hub: University of Liverpool.

William J. Heron Collection of Speculative Fiction: Digital Library and Archives, University Libraries, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. 

Project Gutenberg's Science Fiction Bookshelf

The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction

Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels: A scholarly database, includes full-text works, interviews, criticism, and journal articles. Browse by characters, genres, subjects, authors and publishers, as well as series and titles.

Billy Ireland Cartoon Library and Museum: The Ohio State University. 

Comiclopedia: An illustrated reference source for comic artists managed by Lambiek, Europe's first antiquarian comic shop.

Grand Comics Database: A a nonprofit, Internet-based organization of international volunteers. The database covers all printed comics throughout the world.

The Digital Comic Museum: Public domain golden age comics.

Today’s Political Cartoons: State, local, national, and international cartoons, from the Association of American Editorial Cartoonists.

The British Cartoon Archive: University of Kent.

University of Arizona Special Collections Comic Book Collection (1934–1969)

The Fales Collection of Gay and Lesbian Pulp Fiction, 1955-1988: New York University.

Lesbian Pulp Fiction Collection: Mount Saint Vincent University, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.

Lesbian Pulp Fiction Collection: Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture, Duke University.

The Lesbian Pulp Fiction Collection @ Mount Saint Vincent University, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada. [Exhibit]

Queer Pulp Collection: Pride Library, Western University, Canada.

Pulp Fiction 

The Pulp Magazine Project: A comprehensive, open-access archive and digital research initiative for the study and preservation of all-fiction pulpwood magazine, including publisher and author information.

Pulp Fiction at the Library of Congress: Includes a link to pulps transferred to microform.

The Pulp Magazine Archive (Internet Archive): Public-domain issues.

PulpFest

The Pulp Net

George Kelley Paperback and Pulp Fiction Collection: State University of New York at Buffalo.

Cover Browser: Comics, books, and more.

Vintage Paperback Book Index (Bowling Green State University): Scanned cover art images of vintage paperback books.


Dime Novels

Dime Novels Full Text: Stanford University's 8,000+ individual items, including long runs of the major dime novel series.

Albert Johannsen Dime Novel: Northern Illinois University.

American Antiquarian Society: Access the catalog through this Women and the World of Dime Novels exhibit. 

Dime Novels Collection: Brandeis University.

Pulp Fiction at the Library of Congress: Includes a link to pulps transferred to microform.

The Texas Collection, Baylor University: Specific areas of collection development include Texas popular literature as depicted in Dime Novels, pulp literature, western stories and modern fiction.

The Romance Project: Popular romance as told in novels, films, comics, advice books, songs, and Internet fan fiction. George Mason University.

Harlequin Romance Collection of Treva M. Taylor: New York University.

Medical Romance Collection: Schlesinger Library, Harvard University.

Nurse Romance Collection: University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries; more than 4oo novels that have nurses as central characters.

Women Mystery Writers Collection: University of Arizona.

Database of Chinese Popular Literature

Chinese Comic Books: Stanford University Libraries (1950s–1970s).

South Asian Popular and Pulp Fiction: University of Texas at Austin (see scanned covers)

Pepines, "La historieta popular mexicana, fuente y llave privilegiada e insustituible de nuestro imaginario," the National Autonomous University in Mexico (UNAM). 

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO): British Theatre, Music, and Literature (Archive 3). Popular Literature in 18th and 19th Century Britain: The Barry Ono Collection of Bloods and Penny Dreadfuls; The Sabine-Gould and Thomas Crampton Collections (Ballad and Braodside Material).

English Broadside Ballad Archive: This database makes broadside ballads of the 17th century fully accessible as texts, art, music, and cultural records. University of California at Santa Barbara, Department of English.

The Diaz-Ayala Cuban and Latin American Popular Music Collection: Florida International University.

The Pulp Fiction Collection: Australian pulps, University of Otago, New Zealnad. 

Arabic Movie Posters and Lobby Cards Collection, Princeton University Library: Materials from Egypt, Lebanon, and Syria, 1935–2007. 

Dream Factory on the Nile: Posters and Memorabilia from the Golden Age of Egyptian Film: An exhibit from the Stanford University Libraries collection of over 2,000 posters.

Hours and Locations