The yellow "Get it @ ASU" links or other full-text links within our databases should take you to the article if we have it. But if it doesn't, it's a good idea to check further. There's a good chance that we might still have the article you need. There are several ways that you can do this:
Search the title of the article in Google Scholar. If you put the title of the article in quotation marks into the search box it will be a little more specific, but that's not always necessary. Usually just a simple cut and paste will work. Use the "get it @ ASU" links within Google Scholar to take you to the article.
Search the title of the article in Library One Search. Same procedure as above. Note that this will only find the article if ASU has it, so it's more limiting than a Google Scholar search.
If those methods don't work, you can make a final check using our our Journal Title Lookup feature to lead you to the volumes of that particular journal that we have access to online.
These are also the methods you can use to find an article if you have gotten a reference from another source, such as a bibliography, and already know the citation information (journal name, volume number, date, etc.).
The ASU Library provides a network of physical and virtual resources for your use. We have a comprehensive collection of databases for finding research articles. The research guides in your area and your subject librarian can help you find the best starting point.
Our book collection contains both print and e-books. You can easily find both in our catalog.
Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery - Don't find the item you need? Our Interlibrary Loan service can get it for you.
Search for dissertations that have been done on your topic before you begin your thesis or dissertation. The library provides a database called Proquest Dissertations and Theses which includes the full text of many doctoral dissertations from institutions in the United States and abroad.
JournalTOCs - Keep current with this searchable collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs). Sign up for alerts when new content is published.
Video - ASU Library houses a large collection of instructional, documentary, and popular DVDs and videotapes. Search the online catalog for your topic, then use the Modify Search option to limit your results to Material Type "Video/Film".
Media Booking - Media Booking, is a support service for classroom instruction and research available to current ASU faculty, students, and staff that arranges for video availability on a specific date or alternate dates.
Streaming Video - Streaming video is a means of delivering video content to computer desktops via an Internet connection. This guide provides basic information on streaming video resources available at Arizona State University.
Social Services and Social Work
Social Services Abstracts - Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,500 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
LibGuide - https://libguides.asu.edu/socialworkdpc
Psychology and Sociology
PsycInfo - Indexes literature in psychology & related disciplines (sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, & anthropology). Index covers journals, books, chapters, dissertations & technical reports.
Sociological Abstracts - Covers theoretical & applied sociology, social science, and policy science. Database includes sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, urban studies, etc.
SocIndex - SocINDEX™ with Full Text is a social sciences research database, covering a wide spectrum of disciplines. It offers in-depth coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
Social Sciences Full Text - Covers concepts, theories, and methodologies in all areas of the social sciences. Subjects covered include anthropology, criminology, economics, law, geography, policy studies psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies. Journal articles from 518 titles; includes full text for over 163 titles published after 1994; also includes bibliographic citations; abstracts.
Counseling and Therapy in Video - Provides the online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Education Full Text - Covers education topics such as critical thinking, teaching methods, curriculum, comparative education, literacy standards, multicultural education, psychology, special education, counseling, teacher/parent relations, vocational education, etc.
ERIC – A database of education literature, sponsored by the US Department of Education, it includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.
Medicine and Nursing
CINAHL - Indexes nursing/allied health journals & most publications of the American Nurses' Association & National League for Nursing. Database includes relevant materials from biomedicine, management, behavioral sciences, education, & consumer health. Also includes Pre-CINAHL which provides current awareness of new journal articles while these articles are being indexed.
MEDLINE - Medline abstracts biomedical journal articles from the Medline database of the National Library of Medicine in many languages.
PubMed - PubMed indexes citations for articles from MEDLINE and OLDMEDLINE as well as out-of-scope citations from additional general science and chemistry journals whose life sciences articles are indexed in MEDLINE. PubMed also indexes additional life science journal articles that submit full text to PubMed Central.
Academic Search Premier - A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Database includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. It covers a wide range of academic subjects.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts – The database supplies up-to-date bibliographic information and research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) - Index to political, economic, & social issues in current debate. Index covers public & social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, & other social sciences.
Criminal Justice Abstracts - This resource includes full text covering major journals in criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies, and includes an informative summary of the findings, methodology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text’s coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
ProQuest Congressional - U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.
ProQuest Statistical Insight - Indexes statistical information produced by the state governments & selected private organizations. Sources Covered: Statistical Reference Index (SRI), Index to International Statistics (IIS) and American Statistics Index (ASI) -- covering associations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state governments, university research centers, international non-governmental organizations and international intergovernmental organizations.
Films on Demand - Films on Demand, from Films Media Group (FMG), is a comprehensive collection of high-quality educational videos available for video streaming to the computer desktop. Titles cover a wide range of topics organized into subject folders. Individual Learning Objects for each title subdivide the videos into smaller segments.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.